It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You may search the library catalog for items housed in Joyner Library. You may search by word or phrase, author, title, or subject.
Conduct a subject search in the library catalog for those subject headings which are appropriate for your class by selecting the "begins with..." search type and choosing "subject" from the drop menu. For example:
Also, try words or phrase search such as:
education and technology
Here are some books that may be helpful:
Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia-Ref LB 1028.3 E17 2004
Challenges of Teaching With Technology Across the Curriculum: Issues and Solutions-Ref LB 1028.5 C478 2003
The Technology Facade: Overcoming Barriers to Effective Instructional Technology-Ref LB 1028.3 T66 2002
Cases on Educational Technology Implementation for Facilitating Learning by Albert D. Ritzhaupt (Editor); Swapna Kumar (Editor)With constant explorative research on educational technologies, it remains important to have a detailed understanding of the implementation of these innovations. Cases on Educational Technology Implementation for Facilitating Learning blends together vital research and advancements on educational technologies into one comprehensive collection; while structuring the information to make it accessible for implementation into the classroom. Academics, professors, and educators will find this casebook especially useful for integrating new aspects of technology into their programmes.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .C3245 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-31
Education and Technology by Ann Kovalchick (Editor); Kara Dawson (Editor)This two-volume encyclopedia presents over 200 entries that highlight the ways in which educational and communication practices shape our uses of technology. From the hand-cranked mimeograph to digital video, educators have touted each technological advance as the key to improving education. Yet often our students seem no better educated today than they were in the days of ink wells and feather pens. How can we use technology to achieve real gains in student performance? In this new encyclopedia, the only book on educational technology designed for the nonexpert, scholars in the field describe, in jargon-free terms, how educational practices have shaped our uses of technology--and vice versa. They discuss the traditions that are the core knowledge base of the field along with the theoretical, commercial, and social perspectives. In a variety of educational contexts--kindergarten through postsecondary education, corporate and industrial training, and distance education--they evaluate the latest technologies and products. Most importantly, they provide clear insights into educational technologies both as delivery systems (two-way microwave video, for example) and as content design strategies (like web-based instruction). * Covers contemporary topics such as web-based instruction and ebooks * Includes screen shots of interfaces and web pages, and includes graphic diagrams of instructional models, network schemes, and cognitive processes * Features a glossary of terms that define specific technologies mentioned in entries * Provides cross-referenced entries and authoritative citations
Call Number: LB1028.3.E17 2004 V. 1 A-I, LB1028.3.E17 2004 V. 2 J-Z
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Innovations in Technology Enhanced Learning by Anton Ravindran (Editor); Liz Bacon (Editor)This book is a collection of state-of-the-art research papers discussing innovations in the area of technology-enhanced learning in adult education. It was inspired by ideas presented at the annual "Computer Science Education: Innovation and Technology" conferences, organised and administered by Global Science and Technology Forum (GSTF), at which Professor Bacon has been a regular speaker. Input for the twelve chapters has been sourced from across the world (namely, the USA, Spain, Portugal, the UK, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, Singapore, Iran and Australia), providing a truly international perspective on the field. With rapid developments in technology and delivery mechanisms, including the development of MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses), online learning is in the process of revolutionising higher education, which makes this book all the more relevant and timely.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Learning Identities in a Digital Age by Avril Loveless; Ben WilliamsonDigital media are increasingly interwoven into how we understand society and ourselves today. From lines of code to evolving forms of online conduct, they have become an ever-present layer of our age. The rethinking of education has now become the subject of intense global policy debates and academic research, paralleled by the invention and promotion of new learning identities, which are intended to incite teachers and students to think, feel, and act as social operators in schools and beyond. Learning Identities in a Digital Age provides a critical exploration of how education has been reimagined for the digital future. It argues that education is now the subject of a "cybernetic" mode of thought: a contemporary style of thinking about society and identity that is saturated with metaphors of networks, flexibility, interactivity, and connectedness. This book examines how shifts in thought have translated into fresh ideas about creative learning, interactive tools, curriculum reform, and teacher identity. The text identifies how learning identities have been promoted, and position young people as networked learners, equipped for political, economic and cultural participation in the digital age. Included in the text: - mapping the digital age - reconstructing the future of education -making up digital learning identities -assembling creative learning -thinking with digital tools - protoyping the curriculum of the future -being a teacher in a digital age. This book situates education and technology in an intergenerational and interdisciplinary conversation. It will be of interest to students, researchers and practising education professionals who want to understand the wider sociological and psychological significance of new technologies on education and learner identity.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .L68 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Evaluating Educational Technology by Barbara Means (Editor); Geneva Haertel (Editor)In this definitive volume, today's leading authorities outline research designs, methodologies, and types of assessments that can be used to more effectively evaluate educational technologies. These designs, when properly implemented, provide critical evidence of technology's impact on student learning. Featuring real-world examples with lessons learned to help readers understand the experts' conclusions and recommendations, this user-friendly reference is organized around four themes: The range of alternative research designs that can be used to document whether a particular technology is effective and warranted. The use of contextualized evaluations sensitive to local conditions and concerns. The need for longitudinal research designs to detect both long- and short-term effects of technology. The need for new kinds of assessments to measure student learning. In addition to this comprehensive reference, TC Press also publishes a companion volume that synthesizes these research finding--Using Technology Evaluation to Enhance Student Learning. This companion volume will help educators make sense of claims regarding the scientific research base for technologies they are considering using in their classrooms and schools, and will show policymakers how to find out "what works" in their district or state. Used together, this groundbreaking resource is the only reference you will need for the most up-to-date, authoritative information on how to evaluate the effectiveness of educational technology.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .E962 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-26
Digital Schools by Darrell M. WestNearly a century ago, famed educator John Dewey said that "if we teach today's students as we taught yesterday's, we rob them of tomorrow." That wisdom resonates more strongly than ever today, and that maxim underlies this insightful look at the present and future of education in the digital age. As Darrell West makes clear, today's educational institutions must reinvent themselves to engage students successfully and provide them with the skills needed to compete in an increasingly global, technological, and online world. Otherwise the American education system will continue to fall woefully short in its mission to prepare the population to survive and thrive in a rapidly changing world. West examines new models of education made possible by enhanced information technology, new approaches that will make public education in the post-industrial age more relevant, efficient, and ultimately more productive. Innovative pilot programs are popping up all over the nation, experimenting with different forms of organization and delivery systems. Digital Schools surveys this promising new landscape, examining in particular personalized learning; realtime student assessment; ways to enhance teacher evaluation; the untapped potential of distance learning; and the ways in which technology can improve the effectiveness of special education and foreign language instruction. West illustrates the potential contributions of blogs, wikis, social media, and video games and augmented reality in K-12 and higher education. Technology by itself will not remake education. But if today's schools combine increased digitization with needed improvements in organization, operations, and culture, we can overcome current barriers, produce better results, and improve the manner in which schools function. And we can get back to teaching for tomorrow, rather than for yesterday.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-05-31
The Classroom Teacher's Technology Survival Guide by Doug JohnsonA comprehensive guide for integrating educational technology inthe K-12 classroom This is a must-have resource for all K-12 teachers andadministrators who want to really make the best use of availabletechnologies. Written by Doug Johnson, an expert in educationaltechnology, The Classroom Teacher's Technology SurvivalGuide is replete with practical tips teachers can easily use toengage their students and make their classrooms places where bothstudents and teachers will enjoy learning. Covers the most up-to-date technologies and how they can bestbe used in the classroom Includes advice on upgrading time-tested educational strategiesusing technology Talks about managing "disruptive technologies" in theclassroom Includes a wealth of illustrative examples, helpfulsuggestions, and practical tips This timely book provides a commonsense approach to choosing andusing educational technology to enhance learning.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .J6 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Technology and the Pedagogics of Learning by Jephias MapuvaThis book attempts to bring out the prospects and challenges of utilising technology in information dissemination within the education discourse. Primarily, this volume addresses the challenges that confront both students and academics, especially the latter who are involved in dispensing information to students. In its thrust, the book attempts to explore how students would benefit from the use of ICTs, especially the internet, as well as various e-tools that have not only provided an avenue for interaction between students and academics, but has become a source of fun. Some of the e-tools that have been explored in this book include blogs, podcasts, wikis, Facebook and chatrooms, with the latest technological innovations such as Twitter being earmarked for the sequel to this book. In addition to e-tools, the book deliberates on how technology has caused a paradigm shift as lecturers take on a new challenge of applying technology as a supplement to their traditional talk-and-chalk teaching methods. The author intends to make this book part of a series of editions which are going to be produced on the utilisation of ICT for educational, communication and marketing purposes. Suggestions will also be given on how emerging technological innovations would be used to enhance delivery of instruction and what their pedagogical implications within the education discourse would be. Due to the indispensable role that ICTs have played (and continue to play) in providing a conducive environment for teaching and learning purposes, this volume will be of interest to those in the ICT field, students of ICT and Information Systems, and even the casual reader would find the book educative, informative and engrossing.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Using Technology to Support High-Impact Educational Practice by Karen S. IversEmphasizing the importance of preparing students for the global workforce, this title explains how to teach using the latest educational technology. As technology becomes more advanced and accessible, it gives rise to new delivery methods of instruction and learning. High Impact Educational Practices including collaboration, diversity, global learning, service- and project-based learning, and research and writing, can be used to strengthen students' readiness for the demands of the 21st-century global community and workforce. This book helps current and future K-12 educators to better understand high impact educational practices and why they are important. It provides educators with ideas of how to use technology to support high impact educational practices in their classrooms and helps them to create just, equitable, and inclusive learning environments that support 21st-century learning. * Gain an understanding of the importance of using high impact educational practices to support students' academic achievement, social and global competence, and success in our diverse and digital global community and workforce * Learn about high impact education practices including collaboration, diversity (social competence), global learning (global competence), service- and project-based learning, and research and writing (including media, information, and ICT literacy; eportfolios, and digital citizenship) * Come away with instructional strategies and numerous technology resources that can be used to support high impact educational practices
Call Number: LB1028.3 .I93 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Learning First, Technology Second by Liz KolbLearning with technology does not happen because a specific tool "revolutionizes" education. It happens when proven teaching strategies intersect with technology tools, and yet it is not uncommon for teachers to use a tool because it is "fun" or because the developer promises it will help students learn.Learning First, Technology Second offers teachers the professional learning they need to move from arbitrary uses of technology in their classrooms to thoughtful ways of adding value to student learning.This book includes: an introduction to the Triple E Framework that helps teachers engage students in time-on-task learning, enhance learning experiences beyond traditional means and extend learning opportunities to bridge classroom learning with students' everyday lives; effective strategies for using technology to create authentic learning experiences for their students; case studies to guide appropriate tech integration; and a lesson planning template to show teachers how to effectively frame technology choices and apply them in instruction.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .K649 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-31
Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching by M. D. Roblyer; Aaron H. DoeringIntegrating Educational Technology into Teaching, 6e, the leading Educational Technology text on the market, introduces the concept of Technology Integration, shows pre-service teachers how to plan for Technology Integration, and offers them the opportunity to practice Technology Integration when designing curriculum to support and shape learning. Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching, 6e presents a comprehensive technology integration framework built on both research and proven classroom practices. The Technology Integration Planning Model (TIP Model) shows teachers how to create an environment in which technology can effectively enhance learning. This sixth edition shows how to incorporate the Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge (Tech-PACK) framework into the TIP Model. Carefully-selected examples and exercises in each chapter encourage teachers to reflect on their practice as they develop the insights, knowledge, and skills they need to integrate technology into content area curricula. Using hundreds of lesson examples and recommended resources, the text balances the theory-based "why" and the practical "how" of using technology to support and shape the future of technology in education. The goal of this edition is for teachers to see more clearly their role in shaping the future of technology in education. This book illustrates that great education means employing technologies to fulfill the vision they make possible: a worldwide social network and a global community that learns and grows together.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .R595 2013
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
Natural Learning for a Connected World by Renate N. Caine; Geoffrey CaineWhy do video games fascinate kids so much that they will spend hours pursuing a difficult skill? Why don't they apply this kind of intensity to their schoolwork? These questions are answered by the authors who pioneered brain/mind learning with the publication of Making Connections: Teaching and the Human Brain. In their new book, Natural Learning for a Connected World, Caine and Caine build a bridge to the future of education with a dynamic model of teaching that works for all grade levels and all cultural and ethnic groups. The authors' education model, the Guided Experience Approach, is based on the scientific foundation of learning as a totally natural, continuous interaction between perception and action. This important book provides a practical, step-by-step description and successful examples from practice so that we can finally provide the learning environments essential for our children to thrive in the knowledge age. Book Features: Describes an approach for integrating technology into teaching that will help all students learn with greater depth and ease. Synthesizes research from neuroscience, cognitive psychology, biology, and education. Contrasts the ways in which video games are designed with the way students are taught in school, demonstrating traditional education's inconsistencies with how the brain learns best.
Call Number: LB1060 .C334 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
Emerging Technologies for Education by Tianyong Hao (Editor); Wei Chen (Editor); Haoran Xie (Editor); Wanvimol Nadee (Editor); Rynson Lau (Editor)This book constitutes the thoroughly refereed post-workshop proceedings of the Third International Symposium, SETE 2018, held in conjunction with ICWL 2018, Chiang Mai, Thailand, in August 2018. The 23 full and 3 short papers were carefully reviewed and selected from 51 submissions. The papers have been organized in the following topical sections: Emerging Technologies of Design, Model and Framework of Learning Systems; Emerging Technologies Support for Intelligent Tutoring; Emerging Technologies Support for Game-Based and Joyful Learning; Emerging Technologies of Pedagogical Issues; UMLL (International Symposium on User Modeling and Language Learning); ETLTL (International Workshop on Educational Technology for Language and Translation Learning)