Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMA Citation Style 11th Edition Guide

Additional Citation Examples

Please check out the AMA Manual of Style 11th edition for additional electronic source citation examples not shown in this guide

Citing Databases in AMA

Databases in AMA 11th Edition

General Form for Citing Databases (AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed.)

Author(s). Title of the database [database online]. publisher’s name; year of publication and/or last update. Accessed Month, Day, Year. URL [provide URL and verify that the link still works]

General Notes:

  • When a database has a common name, include “[database online]” after its title to help the reader understand what you are citing. AMA uses square brackets for explanatory notes.
  • When listing URLs, provide the database’s primary URL (listed below for each database). Do not use the long URL that you see when accessing the database.
  • Some databases do not list authors. If no author is listed, start your citation with the name of the drug or page you are citing.
  • As of the 11th edition, AMA no longer recommends a location of the publisher in a citation
Author/page title Database Publisher Date/last update Accessed URL
Author AA. Database Title. Publisher Name; 2021. Month day, Year www.xx.xx
Page name Database title [database online]. Publisher Name; Updated April 30, 2021 Month day, year www.xx.xx