Research Guides: PSYC 2210: Research Methods in Psychology: Measures & Assessment

Testing and Assessment Resources

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780471239499
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology
Call Number: BF176 .A63 2013
Joyner Ref. Stacks
Also available at the Laupus Health Sciences Library
*Can't be checked out*
Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Call Number: Ebook
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment
Call Number: BF176 .S78 2007
Also available as an ebook
Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business
Call Number: BF176 .T43 2003
*2007 edition available at the Laupus Health Sciences Library*

Reliability and Validity

Reliability: The ability of a measure to produce consistent results when the same entities are measured under the same conditions.
Validity: Validity concerns the extent to which an instrument measures what it is intended to measure.

Learn more about validity and reliability by reviewing the entry on "Psychometrics: Norms, Reliability, Validity, and Item Analysis" (p. 759) in the ebook below.

The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead; Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2004

Psychology Test Reviews

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by Joel Fischer; Kevin Corcoran
Call Number: Ref. Stacks BF 176 C66 2007
Tests in Print VII by Linda L. Murphy (Editor); Barbara S. Plake (Editor); Robert A. Spies (Editor); Buros Institute Staff
Call Number: Ref. Stacks LB3051 .T48 2006
Commissioned Reviews of 250 Psychological Tests by John Maltby (Editor); Christopher A. Lewis (Editor); Andrew Hill (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. Stacks BF 176 C65 2000
Test Critiques Compendium by Daniel J. Keyser (Editor); Richard C. Sweetland (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. Stacks BF176 .T4195 1987

American Psychological Association - Assessment & Testing

Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP) provide users with a comprehensive guides to contemporary testing instruments and all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership and allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests and provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, and authors. Both MMY and TIP are produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists in the identification of measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes blend of abstracts, indexes and links to full-text of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure and treatment and prevention. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages. Content spans 1597 – present. Click here for a guide to this database.

Tips for searching for a specific measure/questionnaire in PsycINFO:

* If you know the test or measurement:

Open PsycINFO using the link above
Scroll to the bottom of the Advanced Search page and type in the measure into the Tests & Measures search box
Click Search and the database will do the rest!

* For browsing tests and measures in articles:

Open PsycINFO using the link above
Click the search button without entering any search terms
Scroll down the left side to use the Tests & Measures filter
Click the measures you're interested in and the database will filter out and display only those articles featuring those measures

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print - Search Tips

Tip: After clicking the database name, you can browse tests by scrolling down to test category

Select a Field (Drop Down Boxes)

TI Title - Search by test title
AC Acronym - Search by the test's acronym
SC Scores - Search by what the test measures

Helpful Limiters (left side of your results list)

Test Category
Administration
Has Review

HAPI - Search Tips

Mandatory Searching Technique

Select "Multi-Field Search"
Choose "Fulltext"
Drop Down Options:

"Source Code" tells the database what type of source you want to search for. Search for Review Source.

Other Drop Down Search Options

"Measure Descriptor" determines what the test is measuring. Ex. Depression or Intelligence
Title: Search for tests by title Ex. Stanford-Binet
Acronym: Search for tests by acroynm.

You must always select "Source Review"