Research Guides: PSYC 2210: Research Methods in Psychology: Finding Articles

Psychology Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the PsycINFO database.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Proquest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary database of (largely) scholarly articles.

An excellent starting place for research..

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the ProQuest Research Library database.

Search OneSearch!

RefWorks

RefWorks is a citation management software that you can use to simplify the research process. You can keep citations to articles in RefWorks, access journal articles in databases without searching for them again, cite sources in your paper, and create a bibliography with RefWorks. This software is available to all students at ECU during the duration of their time at ECU. Click the button below to get registered! Click here for tutorials.

Understanding Databases

General Psychology Databases

Psychology Database List
Full list and links to Psychology databases

Select Psychology Databases

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The articles originate from the APA and APA-allied organizations. Letters to the editor and errata from each journal are also included. Content spans 1894 – present.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Psychiatry Online is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing. Access includes DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases. Also included are journals, textbooks, guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical/research news, and patient handouts.

Topics within Psychology

Some topics within Psychology will require you to explore other databases. (Examples: Relationships, Sexually Transmitted Infections, Gender Issues)

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An extensive index of bibliographic information for sociology research. Provides records from leading sociology journals. Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
LGBT Life with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Contains blend of abstracts, indexing, full-text and includes links to full text. Covers Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Content includes: The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade and more. Content spans 1990’s – present.

E-Journal/E-Book Portal

Search Joyner Library's collection of online materials.

Recommended Journals

Click a journal below, then choose the database within which to view it.

*Pay attention to date range*

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be used to limit to articles held in full text by ECU Libraries.

Click on the image above to access our guide on how to do this on and off campus.

InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU libraries do not have what you need.