Preceptor Resources: PubMed Research on Preceptors

1.

Assessment of the competency of learner-centered teaching of clinical preceptor using the augmented Stanford Faculty Development Program Questionnaire (SFDPQ): a cross sectional comparative study.

Liu Z, Wang T, Wu S, Xu B, Zhao W, Yin X, Sun Y.

BMC Med Educ. 2024 Aug 16;24(1):883. doi: 10.1186/s12909-024-05883-4.

PMID: 39152419 Free PMC article.

2.

Resident and teacher perceptions of the preceptor field note: a qualitative analysis.

Markovski M, Jeyabalan V, Stephens R, Kiehn L, Lockwood J, Saeed D, Bordman R.

Can Med Educ J. 2024 Jul 12;15(3):113-115. doi: 10.36834/cmej.77182. eCollection 2024 Jul.

PMID: 39114785 Free PMC article.

3.

Midwives views about preceptorship and peer-learning in a birth unit: A cross-sectional study.

Spets M, Barimani M, Zwedberg S, Tingström P, Ulfsdottir H.

Nurse Educ Today. 2024 Aug;139:106255. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2024.106255. Epub 2024 May 14.

PMID: 38788631

4.

Characterization of teaching-learning tutors in public health services and topics of interest for their work.

Souza IS, Paiva Neto FT, Pereira RCFG, Shimocomaqui GB, Paz ACPD, Paresque MAC, Eshriqui I.

Rev Esc Enferm USP. 2024 Mar 29;58:e20230268. doi: 10.1590/1980-220X-REEUSP-2023-0268en. eCollection 2024.

PMID: 38558024 Free PMC article.

5.

Missed nursing care among nursing students: A scoping review.

Abawaji MA, Cardwell R, McKenna L.

Nurse Educ Today. 2024 Jun;137:106169. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2024.106169. Epub 2024 Mar 20.

PMID: 38518403 Review.

6.

Core competencies for Registered Nurse preceptors: A mapping review of quantitative studies.

Ryan CL, Cant R, Hughes L, Ahchay D, Strickland K.

Nurs Open. 2024 Feb;11(2):e2076. doi: 10.1002/nop2.2076.

PMID: 38375681 Free PMC article. Review.

7.

Nursing students' satisfaction with the quality of clinical placement and their perceptions of preceptors competence: A prospective longitudinal study.

Alhassan A, Duke M, Phillips NNM.

Nurse Educ Today. 2024 Feb;133:106081. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2023.106081. Epub 2023 Dec 21.

PMID: 38150780

8.

Observation of the effectiveness of problem-based learning in orthopedic nursing clinical preceptorship.

Zhao Y, Zhu H.

Minerva Surg. 2024 Jun;79(3):389-392. doi: 10.23736/S2724-5691.23.10160-2. Epub 2023 Dec 13.

PMID: 38088754 No abstract available.

9.

Effectiveness appraisal of interventions to increase retention of newly qualified nurses implemented in the final year of pre-registration programmes: A literature review.

Brook J, Aitken LM, Salmon D.

Nurse Educ Pract. 2024 Jan;74:103851. doi: 10.1016/j.nepr.2023.103851. Epub 2023 Nov 20.

PMID: 38007847 Review.

10.

Factors influencing early career nurses to adopt leadership roles: a literature review.

Robertson S, Ryan T, Talpur A.

Nurs Manag (Harrow). 2024 Apr 4;31(2):20-26. doi: 10.7748/nm.2023.e2105. Epub 2023 Oct 25.

PMID: 37877178 Review.

11.

Preceptors' experiences of supervising internationally educated nurses attending a bridging program: An interview study.

Eriksson E, Högstedt D, Engström M, Jansson I.

Nurse Educ Today. 2023 Dec;131:105975. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2023.105975. Epub 2023 Sep 17.

PMID: 37729862

12.

Ensuring the quality of clinical supervision: Stakeholder perceptions of pharmacy preceptor competence.

Bartlett AD, Um IS, Krass I, Schneider CR.

Curr Pharm Teach Learn. 2023 Aug;15(8):722-729. doi: 10.1016/j.cptl.2023.07.003. Epub 2023 Jul 26.

PMID: 37500303

13.

Content Analysis of Feedback Journals for New Nurses From Preceptor Nurses Using Text Network Analysis.

Ahn SH, Jeong HW.

Comput Inform Nurs. 2023 Oct 1;41(10):780-788. doi: 10.1097/CIN.0000000000001040.

PMID: 37326509 Free PMC article.

14.

Preceptorship contributions to the development of clinical and managerial skills in nursing residency.

Araújo MDC, Peduzzi M, Mazzi NR, Souza CMDS, Leonello VM.

Rev Bras Enferm. 2023 May 12;76(2):e20220510. doi: 10.1590/0034-7167-2022-0510. eCollection 2023.

PMID: 37194809 Free PMC article.

15.

A systematic review of preceptor's experience in supervising undergraduate nursing students: Lessons learned for mental health nursing.

Benny J, Porter JE, Joseph B.

Nurs Open. 2023 Apr;10(4):2003-2014. doi: 10.1002/nop2.1470. Epub 2022 Nov 6.

PMID: 36336826 Free PMC article. Review.

16.

Nursing students' experience during their practicum in an intensive care unit: A qualitative meta-synthesis.

Liu Y, Wang L, Shao H, Han P, Jiang J, Duan X.

Front Public Health. 2022 Sep 29;10:974244. doi: 10.3389/fpubh.2022.974244. eCollection 2022.

PMID: 36249222 Free PMC article.

17.

Integration strategies and models to support transition and adaptation of culturally and linguistically diverse nursing staff into healthcare environments: An umbrella review.

Kamau S, Koskenranta M, Kuivila H, Oikarainen A, Tomietto M, Juntunen J, Tuomikoski AM, Mikkonen K.

Int J Nurs Stud. 2022 Dec;136:104377. doi: 10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2022.104377. Epub 2022 Oct 10.

PMID: 36327682 Review.

18.

"They were an advocate for me": A Qualitative Study Exploring Medical Student Longitudinal Relationships and Patient Well-Being.

Risotto-Urbanowicz E, Vega T, Caron R, Hasan R.

J Gen Intern Med. 2023 Feb;38(3):648-652. doi: 10.1007/s11606-022-07773-1. Epub 2022 Sep 9.

PMID: 36085210 Free PMC article.

19.

Designated prescribing practitioners: a theory-based cross-sectional study of stakeholders' views on implementation of a novel pharmacy regulator mandated preceptorship model.

Jebara T, McIntosh T, Stewart F, Osprey A, Bruce R, Cunningham S.

Int J Clin Pharm. 2022 Oct;44(5):1195-1204. doi: 10.1007/s11096-022-01467-8. Epub 2022 Aug 11.

PMID: 35951218 Free PMC article.

20.

Preceptor's perceptions about the teaching-learning process and collaborative practices in primary health care.

Moreira KFA, Moura CO, Fernandes DER, Farias EDS, Pinheiro AS, Branco Junior AG.

Rev Gaucha Enferm. 2022 Aug 1;43:e20210100. doi: 10.1590/1983-1447.2022.20210100.en. eCollection 2022.

PMID: 35920523 English, Portuguese.

21.

Impact of Curricula and Electives on Primary Care Specialty Choice: A Narrative Synthesis.

Nguyen BM, Liaw W, Polverento ME, Phillips JP, Wendling AL, Morley CP, Young V, Kovar-Gough I, Prunuske J.

Fam Med. 2022 Jul;54(7):572-577. doi: 10.22454/FamMed.2022.638811.

PMID: 35833938

22.

Nurse preceptors' perceptions of benefits, rewards, support, and commitment to the preceptor role in a new preceptorship program.

Gholizadeh L, Shahbazi S, Valizadeh S, Mohammadzad M, Ghahramanian A, Shohani M.

BMC Med Educ. 2022 Jun 17;22(1):472. doi: 10.1186/s12909-022-03534-0.

PMID: 35715778 Free PMC article.

23.

The perceptions of newly qualified nurses on the guidance by preceptors towards becoming experts in nursing.

Hansen W.

Curationis. 2021 Nov 24;44(1):e1-e9. doi: 10.4102/curationis.v44i1.2205.

PMID: 34879687 Free PMC article.

24.

Strategies for changing the nursing preceptorship activity in Primary Health Care.

Araújo JAD, Vendruscolo C, Adamy EK, Zanatta L, Trindade LL, Khalaf DK.

Rev Bras Enferm. 2021 Aug 16;74Suppl 6(Suppl 6):e20210046. doi: 10.1590/0034-7167-2021-0046. eCollection 2021.

PMID: 34406266 English, Portuguese.

25.

Preceptorship of clinical learning in nursing homes - A qualitative study of influences of an interprofessional team intervention.

Sørø VL, Aglen B, Orvik A, Søderstrøm S, Haugan G.

Nurse Educ Today. 2021 Sep;104:104986. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2021.104986. Epub 2021 May 28.

PMID: 34111711

26.

Leadership Views on the Barriers and Incentives to Clinical Preceptorship.

Bernstein J, Maatman T, Kaljo K.

WMJ. 2021 Apr;120(1):23-28.

PMID: 33974761

27.

Effect of Nurses' Preceptorship Experience in Educating New Graduate Nurses and Preceptor Training Courses on Clinical Teaching Behavior.

Hong KJ, Yoon HJ.

Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2021 Jan 22;18(3):975. doi: 10.3390/ijerph18030975.

PMID: 33499327 Free PMC article.

1.

Longitudinal training models for entrusting students with independent patient care?: A systematic review.

Bonnie LHA, Cremers GR, Nasori M, Kramer AWM, van Dijk N.

Med Educ. 2021 Aug 12. doi: 10.1111/medu.14607. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 34383965 Review.

2.

Towards competency-based medical education in addictions psychiatry: a systematic review.

Bahji A, Smith J, Danilewitz M, Crockford D, El-Guebaly N, Stuart H.

Can Med Educ J. 2021 Jun 30;12(3):126-141. doi: 10.36834/cmej.69739. eCollection 2021 Jun.

PMID: 34249198 Free PMC article. Review.

3.

Experiences of learning, development, and preparedness for clinical practice among undergraduate paramedicine students, graduate/intern paramedics, and their preceptors: a qualitative systematic review.

Hanna H, Jordan Z, Stern C, Pearce J.

JBI Evid Synth. 2021 Apr 29;19(9):2052-2154. doi: 10.11124/JBIES-20-00297.

PMID: 33927089

4.

Systematic review of tools to measure preceptors' perceptions of their role in undergraduate health clinical education.

Griffiths M, Creedy DK, Carter AG.

Nurse Educ Today. 2021 Jul;102:104913. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2021.104913. Epub 2021 Apr 17.

PMID: 33895692 Review.

5.

Measuring and assessing the competencies of preceptors in health professions: a systematic scoping review.

Bartlett AD, Um IS, Luca EJ, Krass I, Schneider CR.

BMC Med Educ. 2020 May 24;20(1):165. doi: 10.1186/s12909-020-02082-9.

PMID: 32448239 Free PMC article.

6.

The one-minute preceptor model: A systematic review.

[No authors listed]

J Am Assoc Nurse Pract. 2019 Jan;31(1):58-59. doi: 10.1097/JXX.0000000000000187.

PMID: 30624361 No abstract available.

7.

The one-minute preceptor model: A systematic review.

Gatewood E, De Gagne JC.

J Am Assoc Nurse Pract. 2019 Jan;31(1):46-57. doi: 10.1097/JXX.0000000000000099.

PMID: 30431548

8.

Experiences of learning, development and preparedness for clinical practice among undergraduate paramedicine students, graduate/intern paramedics and their preceptors: a systematic review protocol.

Hanna H, Jordan Z, Peters MDJ.

JBI Database System Rev Implement Rep. 2018 Dec;16(12):2253-2259. doi: 10.11124/JBISRIR-2017-003618.

PMID: 30204706

9.

Does Preceptorship improve confidence and competence in Newly Qualified Nurses: A systematic literature review.

Irwin C, Bliss J, Poole K.

Nurse Educ Today. 2018 Jan;60:35-46. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2017.09.011. Epub 2017 Sep 28.

PMID: 28987897 Review.

10.

The effectiveness of clinical education models for undergraduate nursing programs: A systematic review.

Jayasekara R, Smith C, Hall C, Rankin E, Smith M, Visvanathan V, Friebe TR.

Nurse Educ Pract. 2018 Mar;29:116-126. doi: 10.1016/j.nepr.2017.12.006. Epub 2017 Dec 16.

PMID: 29272736 Review.

11.

A systematic review of online learning programs for nurse preceptors.

Wu XV, Chan YS, Tan KHS, Wang W.

Nurse Educ Today. 2018 Jan;60:11-22. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2017.09.010. Epub 2017 Sep 28.

PMID: 28987893 Review.

12.

Are new nurses work ready - The impact of preceptorship. An integrative systematic review.

Edward KL, Ousey K, Playle J, Giandinoto JA.

J Prof Nurs. 2017 Sep-Oct;33(5):326-333. doi: 10.1016/j.profnurs.2017.03.003. Epub 2017 Mar 23.

PMID: 28931479 Review.

13.

Newly graduated nurses' orientation experiences: A systematic review of qualitative studies.

Pasila K, Elo S, Kääriäinen M.

Int J Nurs Stud. 2017 Jun;71:17-27. doi: 10.1016/j.ijnurstu.2017.02.021. Epub 2017 Mar 2.

PMID: 28282566 Review.

14.

The effects of nursing preceptorship on new nurses' competence, professional socialization, job satisfaction and retention: A systematic review.

Ke YT, Kuo CC, Hung CH.

J Adv Nurs. 2017 Oct;73(10):2296-2305. doi: 10.1111/jan.13317. Epub 2017 May 15.

PMID: 28398636 Review.

15.

Interventions Used by Nurse Preceptors to Develop Critical Thinking of New Graduate Nurses: A Systematic Review.

Schuelke S, Barnason S.

J Nurses Prof Dev. 2017 Jan/Feb;31(1):E1-E7. doi: 10.1097/NND.0000000000000318.

PMID: 28059996 Review.

16.

Learner : preceptor ratios for practice-based learning across health disciplines: a systematic review.

Loewen P, Legal M, Gamble A, Shah K, Tkachuk S, Zed P.

Med Educ. 2017 Feb;51(2):146-157. doi: 10.1111/medu.13144. Epub 2016 Nov 23.

PMID: 27882579 Review.

17.

A Systematic Review on Interventions Supporting Preceptor Development.

Windey M, Lawrence C, Guthrie K, Weeks D, Sullo E, Chapa DW.

J Nurses Prof Dev. 2015 Nov-Dec;31(6):312-23; quiz E19. doi: 10.1097/NND.0000000000000195.

PMID: 26580462 Review.

18.

Systematic review building a preceptor support system.

Goss CR.

J Nurses Prof Dev. 2015 Jan-Feb;31(1):E7-14. doi: 10.1097/NND.0000000000000117.

PMID: 25325297 Review.

19.

A systematic review of the literature to support an evidence-based precepting program.

Mann-Salinas E, Hayes E, Robbins J, Sabido J, Feider L, Allen D, Yoder L.

Burns. 2014 May;40(3):374-87. doi: 10.1016/j.burns.2013.11.008. Epub 2013 Dec 9.

PMID: 24331408 Review.

20.

Are medical students influenced by preceptors in making career choices, and if so how? A systematic review.

Stagg P, Prideaux D, Greenhill J, Sweet L.

Rural Remote Health. 2012;12:1832. Epub 2012 Jan 24.

PMID: 22283791 Review.

21.

Strategies to prepare and support preceptors and students for preceptorship: a systematic review.

DeWolfe JA, Perkin CA, Harrison MB, Laschinger S, Oakley P, Peterson JA, Seaton F.

Nurse Educ. 2010 May-Jun;35(3):98-100. doi: 10.1097/NNE.0b013e3181d95014.

PMID: 20410740 Review. No abstract available.

1.

Preceptorship for Surgical Skills: Can It Be Virtual and In-Person?

Freischlag JA.

J Am Coll Surg. 2021 Sep;233(3):493. doi: 10.1016/j.jamcollsurg.2021.05.002.

PMID: 34446221 No abstract available.

2.

Upgrading Your Surgical Skills Through Preceptorship.

Feliciano DV, Delaney CP, Schauer P, Takanishi DM Jr, Alford LA, Medlin W, Sachdeva AK.

J Am Coll Surg. 2021 Sep;233(3):487-493. doi: 10.1016/j.jamcollsurg.2021.04.034. Epub 2021 Jun 11.

PMID: 34126201 No abstract available.

3.

Match Statistics Underestimate the Number of Doctors Unable to Obtain Residency Training Positions.

Carmody JB.

Acad Med. 2021 Feb 1;96(2):164. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000003822.

PMID: 33492824 No abstract available.

4.

Evaluation of a Preceptorship Model on Third-Year General Surgery Clerkship.

Geary AD, Pernar LI, Chugh PV, Carter CO.

J Am Coll Surg. 2020 Jun;230(6):957-964. doi: 10.1016/j.jamcollsurg.2020.03.033. Epub 2020 Apr 18.

PMID: 32315744

5.

Continuity With Patients, Preceptors, and Peers Improves Primary Care Training: A Randomized Medical Education Trial.

Henschen BL, Liss DT, Golden BP, Cameron KA, Bierman JA, Ryan ER, Gard LA, Neilson EG, Wayne DB, Evans DB.

Acad Med. 2020 Mar;95(3):425-434. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000003045.

PMID: 31626000

6.

Teaching Medical Students in the Rural Setting Long Term: Physicians' Attitudes and Perceptions.

Wheat J, Brandon J, Cox M, Thomas S, Guin S, Leeper J.

South Med J. 2019 Oct;112(10):526-530. doi: 10.14423/SMJ.0000000000001023.

PMID: 31583412

7.

Defining Global Health Tracks for Pediatric Residencies.

Haq H, Barnes A, Batra M, Condurache T, Pitt MB, Robison JA, Schubert C, St Clair N, Uwemedimo O, Watts J, Russ CM.

Pediatrics. 2019 Jul;144(1):e20183860. doi: 10.1542/peds.2018-3860. Epub 2019 Jun 18.

PMID: 31213520

8.

Approaches to Precepting.

Walters A.

Am J Nurs. 2019 Jun;119(6):13. doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000559787.25254.16.

PMID: 31135410 No abstract available.

9.

Ensuring a Successful Preceptorship.

Loughran MC, Koharchik L.

Am J Nurs. 2019 May;119(5):61-65. doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000557917.73516.00.

PMID: 31033558

10.

An Evidence-Based Approach to Precepting New Nurses.

Barba M, Valdez-Delgado K, VanFosson CA, Caldwell NW, Boyer S, Robbins J, Mann-Salinas EA.

Am J Nurs. 2019 Mar;119(3):62-67. doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000554036.68497.61.

PMID: 30801318

11.

The North Carolina Community Preceptor Experience: Third Study of Trends Over 12 Years.

Latessa R, Keen S, Byerley J, Foley KA, Payne LE, Conner KT, Tarantino H, Peyser B, Steiner BD.

Acad Med. 2019 May;94(5):715-722. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000002571.

PMID: 30608269

12.

Recruiting and Retaining Community-Based Preceptors: A Multicenter Qualitative Action Study of Pediatric Preceptors.

Beck Dallaghan GL, Alerte AM, Ryan MS, Patterson PB, Petershack J, Christy C, Mills WA Jr, Paul CR, Peltier C, Stamos JK, Tenney-Soeiro R, Vercio C.

Acad Med. 2017 Aug;92(8):1168-1174. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000001667.

PMID: 28353497

13.

'Flipping' the Classroom.

Billings DM.

Am J Nurs. 2016 Sep;116(9):52-6. doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000494696.86240.35.

PMID: 27560340

14.

Preceptor Support in Hospital Transition to Practice Programs.

Blegen MA, Spector N, Ulrich BT, Lynn MR, Barnsteiner J, Silvestre J.

J Nurs Adm. 2015 Dec;45(12):642-9. doi: 10.1097/NNA.0000000000000278.

PMID: 26565643

15.

What is the future of training in surgery? Needs assessment of national stakeholders.

Kim S, Dunkin BJ, Paige JT, Eggerstedt JM, Nicholas C, Vassilliou MC, Spight DH, Pliego JF, Rush RM, Lau JN, Carpenter RO, Scott DJ.

Surgery. 2014 Sep;156(3):707-17. doi: 10.1016/j.surg.2014.04.047.

PMID: 25175505

16.

Role modeling in medical education: the importance of a reflective imitation.

Benbassat J.

Acad Med. 2014 Apr;89(4):550-4. doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000000189.

PMID: 24556777 Free PMC article.

17.

Hearing the voices of newly licensed RNs: the transition to practice: a qualitative study suggests that new nurses need more guidance and support than they’re getting.

Spiva L, Hart PL, Pruner L, Johnson D, Martin K, Brakovich B, McVay F, Mendoza SG.

Am J Nurs. 2013 Nov;113(11):24-32. doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000437108.76232.20.

PMID: 24149264

18.

Lessons learned in physician reentry.

Cass I, Gordon LA, Kilpatrick S.

Obstet Gynecol. 2012 Aug;120(2 Pt 1):360-4. doi: 10.1097/AOG.0b013e31825da13e.

PMID: 22825096