Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Preceptor Resources: Preceptors & Preceptorships

Resources for Preceptors

NC AHEC & Community Precepting Fact Sheet

Free CME Resources

Free Articles about Preceptors

Websites for Preceptors

Videos About Preceptors & Precepting

How to NOT Suck as a Nurse Preceptor | 10 Tips How to Be a Good Preceptor in Nursing, Feb 11, 2021
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NQstk8nvq4

Sellar Nurse Preceptors - What does it Take? Apr 26, 2019
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLMCG0FewsI

Take 5: One Minute Preceptor, Jul 26, 2016
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRBdfXRj5N0

Tips for New Nurse Preceptors, May 18, 2020
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOrZAQAL5Aw

TIPS FOR PRECEPTING NURSES, May 21, 2019
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZyHevUHUUI

Tips to Being an Effective Preceptor, Aug 1, 2017
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tItnc733G4E
 

Free Research Articles about Preceptors, PubMed Research

1.

Impact of an urban regional medical campus: perceptions of community stakeholders.

Cooper G, El-Masri M, Kyle De M, Tam N, Sbrocca N, Awuku M, Jacobs L.

Can Med Educ J. 2021 Feb 26;12(1):e46-e59. doi: 10.36834/cmej.69951. eCollection 2021 Feb.

PMID: 33680230 Free PMC article.

2.

Interpersonal and communication skills development in nursing preceptorship education and training programmes: a scoping review protocol.

Hardie P, Darley A, Redmond C, Lafferty A, Jarvis S.

HRB Open Res. 2021 Jan 28;4:9. doi: 10.12688/hrbopenres.13201.1. eCollection 2021.

PMID: 33665546 Free PMC article.

3.

Clinical placement experience of nursing students during the COVID-19 pandemic: A cross-sectional study.

Ulenaers D, Grosemans J, Schrooten W, Bergs J.

Nurse Educ Today. 2021 Jan 13;99:104746. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2021.104746. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 33545565 Free PMC article.

4.

Student midwives' perception of peer learning during their clinical practice in an obstetric unit: A qualitative study.

Zwedberg S, Alnervik M, Barimani M.

Nurse Educ Today. 2021 Jan 22;99:104785. doi: 10.1016/j.nedt.2021.104785. Online ahead of print.

PMID: 33524896

5.

Effect of Nurses' Preceptorship Experience in Educating New Graduate Nurses and Preceptor Training Courses on Clinical Teaching Behavior.

Hong KJ, Yoon HJ.

Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2021 Jan 22;18(3):975. doi: 10.3390/ijerph18030975.

PMID: 33499327 Free PMC article.

6.

Fostering Interprofessional Geriatric Patient Care Skills for Health Professions Students Through a Nursing Facility-Based Immersion Rotation.

Byerly LK, Floren LC, Yukawa M.

MedEdPORTAL. 2020 Dec 24;16:11059. doi: 10.15766/mep_2374-8265.11059.

PMID: 33409357 Free PMC article.

7.

Preceptorship in nursing-midwifery: a training-intervention in health work.

Alves VH, Pereira AV, Dulfe PAM, Vieira BDG, Silva LAD, Fontoura AMT, Branco MBLR.

Rev Bras Enferm. 2020 Dec 21;73(suppl 6):e20190661. doi: 10.1590/0034-7167-2019-0661. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 33338134 English, Portuguese.

8.

TEACHING IN MEDICAL RESIDENCY IN TIMES OF COVID-19.

Falcão MC, Fonseca CDPP, Danti GV.

Rev Paul Pediatr. 2020 Nov 27;38:e2020334. doi: 10.1590/1984-0462/2020/38/2020334. eCollection 2020.

PMID: 33263614 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

9.

Preceptorship scheme for newly qualified physician associates working in general practice in Sheffield.

Hoskin J, Agarwal R.

Clin Med (Lond). 2020 Nov;20(6):e255-e259. doi: 10.7861/clinmed.2020-0221.

PMID: 33199331 Free PMC article.

10.

The physician healer track: educating the hearts and the minds of future physicians.

Buck E, Billingsley T, McKee J, Richardson G, Geary C.

Med Educ Online. 2021 Dec;26(1):1844394. doi: 10.1080/10872981.2020.1844394.

PMID: 33167822 Free PMC article.

11.

Medical education in the time of COVID-19.

Wayne DB, Green M, Neilson EG.

Sci Adv. 2020 Jul 29;6(31):eabc7110. doi: 10.1126/sciadv.abc7110. eCollection 2020 Jul.

PMID: 32789183 Free PMC article. No abstract available.

12.

Making Medical Student Documentation Count in 2020.

Nicholson T, George P, Adashi EY.

R I Med J (2013). 2020 Aug 3;103(6):17-19.

PMID: 32752558

13.

Voluntary assignments during the pediatric clerkship to enhance the clinical experiences of medical students in the United States.

Krawiec C, Myers AK.

J Educ Eval Health Prof. 2020;17:17. doi: 10.3352/jeehp.2020.17.17. Epub 2020 May 27.

PMID: 32455511 Free PMC article.

14.

Measuring and assessing the competencies of preceptors in health professions: a systematic scoping review.

Bartlett AD, Um IS, Luca EJ, Krass I, Schneider CR.

BMC Med Educ. 2020 May 24;20(1):165. doi: 10.1186/s12909-020-02082-9.

PMID: 32448239 Free PMC article.

15.

A Clinical Teaching Blended Learning Program to Enhance Registered Nurse Preceptors' Teaching Competencies: Pretest and Posttest Study.

Wu XV, Chi Y, Panneer Selvam U, Devi MK, Wang W, Chan YS, Wee FC, Zhao S, Sehgal V, Ang NKE.

J Med Internet Res. 2020 Apr 24;22(4):e18604. doi: 10.2196/18604.

PMID: 32329743 Free PMC article.

16.

Changes in Pharmacy Students' Metacognition Through Self-Evaluation During Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences.

Nisly SA, Sebaaly J, Fillius AG, Haltom WR, Dinkins MM.

Am J Pharm Educ. 2020 Jan;84(1):7489. doi: 10.5688/ajpe7489.

PMID: 32292195 Free PMC article.

17.

The Status and Adequacy of Preceptor Orientation and Development Programs in US Pharmacy Schools.

O'Sullivan TA, Cox CD, Darbishire P, Dinkins MM, Johanson EL, Joseph A, Vos S.

Am J Pharm Educ. 2020 Feb;84(2):7540. doi: 10.5688/ajpe7540.

PMID: 32226070 Free PMC article.

18.

Should We Be Trained to Train? Nursing Students' and Newly Qualified Nurses' Perception on Good Lecturers and Good Clinical Preceptors.

Martínez-Linares JM, Parra-Sáez C, Tello-Liébana C, López-Entrambasaguas OM.

Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2019 Dec 4;16(24):4885. doi: 10.3390/ijerph16244885.

PMID: 31817138 Free PMC article.

19.

Clinical supervision and preceptorship/tutorship: contributions to the Supervised Curricular Internship in Nursing Education.

Esteves LSF, Cunha ICKO, Bohomol E, Santos MR.

Rev Bras Enferm. 2019 Oct 21;72(6):1730-1735. doi: 10.1590/0034-7167-2018-0785. eCollection 2019.

PMID: 31644767 English, Portuguese.

20.

Barriers to outpatient education for medical students: a narrative review.

Oliveira Franco RL, Martins Machado JL, Satovschi Grinbaum R, Martiniano Porfírio GJ.

Int J Med Educ. 2019 Sep 27;10:180-190. doi: 10.5116/ijme.5d76.32c5.

PMID: 31562805 Free PMC article. Review.

21.

'We have to drive everywhere': rural nurses and their precepted students.

Yonge O, Jackman D, Luhanga F, Myrick F, Oosterbroek T, Foley V.

Rural Remote Health. 2019 Jul;19(3):5347. doi: 10.22605/RRH5347. Epub 2019 Jul 31.

PMID: 31362512

22.

Defining Global Health Tracks for Pediatric Residencies.

Haq H, Barnes A, Batra M, Condurache T, Pitt MB, Robison JA, Schubert C, St Clair N, Uwemedimo O, Watts J, Russ CM.

Pediatrics. 2019 Jul;144(1):e20183860. doi: 10.1542/peds.2018-3860. Epub 2019 Jun 18.

PMID: 31213520

23.

Preceptors' perception of their role as educators and professionals in a health system.

Girotto LC, Enns SC, de Oliveira MS, Mayer FB, Perotta B, Santos IS, Tempski P.

BMC Med Educ. 2019 Jun 13;19(1):203. doi: 10.1186/s12909-019-1642-7.

PMID: 31196069 Free PMC article.

24.

Preceptorship during health personnel students' clinical studies in nursing homes-An institutional perspective on an intervention.

Aglen B, Louise Sørø V, Orvik A, Haugan G.

Nurs Open. 2018 Sep 14;6(1):144-154. doi: 10.1002/nop2.197. eCollection 2019 Jan.

PMID: 30534404 Free PMC article.

25.

The Impact of the Preceptorship Program on Self-efficacy and Learning Outcomes in Nursing Students.

Rambod M, Sharif F, Khademian Z.

Iran J Nurs Midwifery Res. 2018 Nov-Dec;23(6):444-449. doi: 10.4103/ijnmr.IJNMR_67_17.

PMID: 30386394 Free PMC article.

26.

Supporting nurse practitioner education: Preceptorship recruitment and retention.

Staples E, Sangster-Gormley E.

Int J Nurs Sci. 2018 Apr 3;5(2):115-120. doi: 10.1016/j.ijnss.2018.03.005. eCollection 2018 Apr 10.

PMID: 31406812 Free PMC article.

27.

Interventions to Reduce Adult Nursing Turnover: A Systematic Review of Systematic Reviews.

Halter M, Pelone F, Boiko O, Beighton C, Harris R, Gale J, Gourlay S, Drennan V.

Open Nurs J. 2017 Aug 15;11:108-123. doi: 10.2174/1874434601711010108. eCollection 2017.

PMID: 29299084 Free PMC article.

28.

Are new nurses work ready - The impact of preceptorship. An integrative systematic review.

Edward KL, Ousey K, Playle J, Giandinoto JA.

J Prof Nurs. 2017 Sep-Oct;33(5):326-333. doi: 10.1016/j.profnurs.2017.03.003. Epub 2017 Mar 23.

PMID: 28931479 Review.