Research Guides: PSYC 4250: Health Disparities: Psychological Perspectives & Solutions: Health Disparities

Getting Started with Health Statistics

Finding and Using Health Statistics
This guide from the National Library of Medicine explains the scope of available health statistics and identifies key sources.
Health Statistics Guide (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
This comprehensive subject guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources. Resources include print and online publications, databases, data sets, online tools, and websites. The majority are from U.S. government agencies.

Major Producers of Health Statistics

The U.S. government collects a huge amount of health data. Agency websites serve as portals to finding health statistics on all kinds of topics, so they make a great starting place in your search for statistical information.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA falls under the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and focuses on mental health, mental illness, and substance abuse in the country.
Centers for Disease Control
The CDC is a part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and is the primary federal agency for public health.
CDC: Wonder
A portal to several CDC databases concerning health-related topics for public health information and numerical data sets such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The NCHS is the nation's principal health statistics agency. It is a unit of the CDC. The NCHS homepage is also a central point for health statistics searchable by topic, links to surveys, publications, and other online tools.
Office of Minority Health (OMH)
Another agency under DHHS, its focus is on "improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities." OMH's data and issue briefs are particularly helpful.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
DHHS is the umbrella agency under which most national health data and statistics programs operate.
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization is an agency of the United Nations and is an international coordinating agency for public health. Major WHO databases include the Global Health Observatory (national statistics for health indicators), WHO Global Infobase Online (chronic diseases and risk factors), and the Global Health Atlas. Data is also accessible by topical categories.

North Carolina Statistics

North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics
Browse publications and data by topic, county-level, or minority health as well as special studies and reports.
North Carolina Health Data Explorer
The Health Data Explorer provides access to health data for North Carolina counties in an interactive, user-friendly atlas of maps, tables, and charts. It allows users to select, visualize, explore and download data on major disease mortality, disparities between groups, social and economic factors, and health behaviors. It is produced by East Carolina University’s Center for Health Services Research and Development and Center for Health Disparities Research.
Burden of Cardiovascular Disease in North Carolina
Comprehensive statewide and local data on stroke, heart disease, and their risk factors.
Characteristics of Uninsured North Carolinians
"This data snapshot provides information about uninsured individuals in North Carolina, including family income, race/ethnicity, workforce status, firm size, age, citizenship, rural/urban residence, health status, and industry. Uninsured estimates are presented for 2008-2009, using data from the US Census Bureau."
North Carolina Child Health Report Cards
This annual publication highlights and summarizes key indicators and outcomes of child health and well-being. Produced by North Carolina Institute of Medicine, in collaboration with NC Child (formerly Action for Children North Carolina).
Diversity Data Kids
Comprehensive data system of health-related information about children and hosted by the Institute for Child, Youth and Family Policy at Brandeis University.
Kaiser Family Foundation: State Health Facts
Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on more than 500 health topics.
LINC (Log Into North Carolina)
Over 1300 data items from state and federal agencies. Historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030. State, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage.
North Carolina Communicable Disease Reports
Data on reported communicable disease cases by disease and county.
North Carolina Health Professions Data System
Developed at the Cecil G. Sheps Center at UNC Chapel Hill to collect and disseminate timely and reliable data on selected licensed health professionals in North Carolina.
North Carolina State Data Center
Consortium of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about the state and its component geographic areas. Includes projections in population of counties by age, gender, race, and Hispanic origin.

United States Statistical Sites

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
[From the site]: For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide comprehensive information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as individual hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Health, United States
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.
Healthy People DATA2020
"DATA2020, the Healthy People 2020 interactive data tool, allows users to explore the data and technical information related to the Healthy People 2020 objectives."
Kaiser Family Foundation
Features data on health care produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation as well as from other organizations. Includes data on each U.S. state.

PSYC 4250: Health Disparities: Psychological Perspectives & Solutions: Health Disparities

Introduction

Getting Started with Health Statistics

Major Producers of Health Statistics

North Carolina Statistics

United States Statistical Sites