Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2201: Subject-based Databases

Subject-based Databases

Image of Joyner Library

J.Y. Joyner Library

Introduction

 

Different areas of study often investigate a single topic or event, but the research questions they ask can vary greatly. 

Library databases play a huge role in discipline-specific research, as most databases collect and index information from only a single or a few related areas of study.  This focus allows researchers to search through a body of articles that relates primarily to their own disciplines and research questions.  And because the content of subject-specific databases is so focused, these databases can often contain helpful subject-customized search tools.

At other times, researchers may want a broader picture of what has been written about a given topic, with a sampling of the research being done across a wide range of subject areas.  Large multidisciplinary databases and One Search can both provide students with this larger perspective.
 

Choose a research focus by selecting a tab above.

 

Multidisciplinary Perspective

One Search and multidisciplinary databases can both provide student researchers with a broader range of sources and perspectives than may be found in subject-specific resources, and can provide essential background information.  For this reason, One Search is often a great place to begin your research. One Search allows researchers to simultaneously search through a variety of major databases and the ECU Libraries' catalog.

To see One Search in action, try typing a keyword into the box below:

One Search for articles, books, and other resources from the ECU Libraries' collection.
About One Search.

 

 

Multidisciplinary Databases:

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library is a general reference database that covers content from business and political science to literature and psychology.  Scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content are included.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. It includes research journals in the humanities, archaeology, social sciences and sciences (includes botany). Journals are scanned, and include full page images. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," a fixed period of time from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.

 

 

Choose a subject below:

I.   Art & Architecture

II. Literature

III. Philosophy & Religion

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Humanities International Complete database.

Art & Architecture

Places to find useful information include:

Art Abstracts
Art Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins from periodicals published throughout the world. Subject coverage includes advertising, archaeology, art, art history, architecture, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, photography, art criticism, video, and film.

Humanities International Complete
The successor to American Humanities Index, a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. Years of Coverage: 1965 to present

Project MUSE
Full-text access to approximately many journals published by academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.


Literature

Places to find useful information include:

MLA Directory of Periodicals
Produced by the Modern Language Association as the basis of the MLA International Bibliography. Lists periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.

Project MUSE
Full-text access to approximately many journals published by academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

JSTOR
Comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Includes research journals in the humanities, archaeology, social sciences and sciences (includes botany). Journals are scanned, and include full page images. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," a fixed period of time from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.


Philosophy & Religion

Places to find useful information:

ATLA Religion Database
Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, biblical archaeology,world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Covers the research literature of religion in 35 languages. Years of Coverage: 1949 - present

Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.Years of Coverage: 1940 - Current

Twentieth-Century Religious Thought
Twentieth Century Religious Thought brings together seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key authors.

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the ABI/INFORM Complete database.

Business 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Places to find useful information include:

ABI/INFORM Complete
In-depth coverage of business and management publications. Includes journals, dissertations, working papers, key business newspapers, trade publications, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Topics covered include business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information.

Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal offers online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Communication and Mass Media Complete database.

Communication

Subject-based Research Guides:

Places to find useful information include:

Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century.

ProQuest Newsstand
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Education Research Complete database.

Education 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Places to find useful information include:

Education Research Complete
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. 

ERIC via ProQuest
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is the premiere indexing and abstracting source for education and related disciplines. Journal and non-journal literature indexed.

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the CINAHL w/Full Text database.

Health Sciences 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Places to find useful information on health sciences topics include:

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source makes it easy to find reliable healthcare information. This database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.

PubMed
This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

CINAHL (search by CINAHL heading)
CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

Choose a subject below:

I.   Biology

II.  Chemistry

III. Environmental Sciences

IV. Geological Sciences

V.  Mathematics

VI. Physics & Astronomy

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Science Direct database.

 

Biology

Places to find useful information include:

Biological Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts of journal articles covering the life sciences literature worldwide. Years of Coverage: 1926 - present.

BioOne
Fulltext of high impact, peer-reviewed bioscience journals and bulletins. Most are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. BioOne is supported by SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition). Largely biology, but does include botany as well.

Ecology Abstracts
Covers current ecology research from a wide range of sources, including journals, books, published conference proceedings, and governmental reports, such as publications from the US Fish & Wildlife Service.

​ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.


Chemistry

Places to find useful information include:

SciFinder
SciFinder Scholar is the online version of Chemical Abstracts (1967-present), CAS Registry (1957-present) and CASREACT. It also includes Medline (1966-present). The database covers the full spectrum of chemical and biomedical subjects, including biochemisty, organic/inorganic chemistry, and applied chemistry, as well as environmental science, food science and toxicology.

​ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.


Environmental Sciences

Places to find useful information include:

Ecology Abstracts
Covers current ecology research from a wide range of sources, including journals, books, published conference proceedings, and governmental reports, such as publications from the US Fish & Wildlife Service.

Environment Abstracts
This database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.

 

​ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.


Geological Sciences

Places to find useful information include:

GEOBASE
A multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for the Earth sciences, ecology,geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. Includes refereed scientific papers; trade journal and magazine articles, product reviews, directories.Geobase has coverage of non-English language and less readily available publications including books, conference proceedings and reports. Multidisciplinary. Years of Coverage: 1973-present

GeoRef
"Hosted on the GeoScienceWorld platform, GeoRef is the American Geological Institute's geoscience database. It contains records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliographyand Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced on request for state surveys or societies, and annual subject andauthor indexes. GeoRef also searches full-text journals available on the GeoScienceWorld platform."

​ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.


Mathematics

Places to find useful information include:

MathSciNet
Provides access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, since 1940.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.


Physics & Astronomy

Places to find useful information include:

IOPscience
"Full-text of scholarly journals published by the Institute of Physics. Years of Coverage: 1874 - present"

​ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Botany is included.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.

Choose a subject below:

I.   Anthropology

II.  Criminal Justice

III.  History

IV.  Political Science

V.  Psychology

VI. Sociology

 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the SocINDEX database.

 


Criminal Justice

Places to find useful information include:

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.

ProQuest Criminal Justice
Full-text criminology and criminal justice articles for students and professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, social work, drug rehabilitation, criminal and family law, industrial security, and other criminal justice fields. 

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.


History

Places to find useful information include:

America: History and Life
America: History and Life offers bibliographic citations to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Years of Coverage: 1964 – present

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). All abstracts are written in English. Historical Abstracts also includes book reviews from journals in the field and abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide. Years of Coverage: 1960 - Current.

JSTOR
Comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Includes research journals in the humanities, archaeology, social sciences and sciences (includes botany). Journals are scanned, and include full page images. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," a fixed period of time from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.




US Capitol west side
Martin Falbisoner 

Political Science

Places to find useful information include:

Homeland Security Digital Library
An authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security policy and strategy. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office of Grants & Training is providing the HSDL to homeland security officials, researchers, educators and students in an effort to further advance national research and policy development.

ProQuest Political Science
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

 


 
 

Psychology

Places to find useful information include:

PsycINFO
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages.

Scopus
Scopus is one of the world’s largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web resources. Included in the database are approximately 50 million records for resources from over 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Among Scopus’s features are tools to track, analyze, and visualize the impacts of research.

 


 

Sociology

Places to find useful information include:

ProQuest Sociology
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Choose a subject below:

I.   Computer Science

II.  Construction Management

III. Engineering 

IV. Industry and Technology

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Applied Science & Technology database.

 

Computer Science

Places to find useful information include:

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Full Text offers indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.  Helpful for applied aspects of many disciplines, such as biomedical engineering, engineering, and construction management.

Computing (ProQuest)
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. IEEE and IEE publish primarily in the fields of electrical engineering and computer science.

 


Construction Management

Places to find useful information include:

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Full Text offers indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.  Helpful for applied aspects of many disciplines, such as biomedical engineering, engineering, and construction management.

Knovel
Provides reference data from major scientific and technical publications and handbooks on chemistry, engineering, construction materials, and industrial hygiene.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. IEEE and IEE publish primarily in the fields of electrical engineering and computer science.

 


Engineering 

Places to find useful information include:

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Full Text offers indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.  Helpful for applied aspects of many disciplines, such as biomedical engineering, engineering, and construction management.

Emerald
Limited access to full text journals published by the U.K.-based MCB University Press. Particularly strong in engineering, general management, human resources; information management, library & information services, marketing, operations and production management, public sector management, quality management, and training & education.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. IEEE and IEE publish primarily in the fields of electrical engineering and computer science.

 


Industry and Technology

Places to find useful information include:

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Full Text offers indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.  Helpful for applied aspects of many disciplines, such as biomedical engineering, engineering, and construction management.

Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Sources include government reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and other publications.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. IEEE and IEE publish primarily in the fields of electrical engineering and computer science.

Arts & Humanities

Humanities Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Humanities International Complete database.

Technology, Engineering, and Computer Science

Applied Science and Technology

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the Applied Science and Technology database.

Natural Sciences

Applied Science and Technology

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the ScienceDirect database.

Business and Economics

Business Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you about searching in ABI/INFORM database.

Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the SocINDEX database.

Communication

Applied Science and Technology

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the Communication and Mass Media Complete database.

Health Sciences

CINAHL

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the CINAHL database.

Education

Education Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search the Education Research Complete database.