Nursing Resources: Home

About this Guide

This guide gives an overview of library resources and services and basic research skills for nursing. The guide also includes an introduction to evidence-based practice, nursing professional organizations and societies, and cultural competence in nursing. Use the tabs above or the arrows at the bottom of the page to navigate through the guide contents.

Laupus Library Resources Quick Links

Use the LIBRARY CATALOG to search for books, videos, DVD's, etc.

Electronic Resources--Use the various DATABASES to search for articles on specific topics. To find a database for your research, SELECT A SUBJECT or the LETTER OF THE ALPHABET that corresponds to the database name.
 
Find Full-Text Articles--When you have a specific CITATION and you want FULL TEXT. Alternately, use the OneSearch tool on the homepage.
 
E-Journal/E-book Locator-- To access online journals and other e-resources. This resource will show what our current access is to specific journals. 

Refworks

Login to RefWorks

RefWorks is an online reference management, writing, and collaboration tool. RefWorks is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store, and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Laupus Hours

Spring Hours
Mon-Thurs            7:30am - Midnight
Friday                      7:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday                  9:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday                    Noon - 10:00pm

For holiday hours and more, see
Detailed Operating Hours

Core Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text 
Covers literature from nursing and allied health journals, dissertations, conferences, book chapters and standards of professional practice, from 1937-present. Also known as: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

MEDLINE via PubMed
A comprehensive database containing literature on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE covers literature from 1950 - present, and is free to the public.

PsychInfo
PsychInfo includes citations and summaries of literature from psychology journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations, from the 1800s - present. Also includes literature from fields related to psychology, with application to fields of health care.

Choose the Right Resource

Google vs. Library Resources

Google and other web search engines are wonderful tools for finding driving directions or a new recipe, but aren't always the best places to start doing research.

  • Google search results include links to commercial sites, which may contain non-validated information that does not qualify as research.
  • Google's relevancy ranking system is set up so that more popular (and usually older) resources come up first.

What is most popular for the whole population may not be useful to your needs as a nurse and with the rapid rate of change in medical knowledge and practice, recent research articles are important for providing the best care. For these reasons, your nursing professors will often ask for peer-reviewed, professional research articles from the last five years. 

The library collections  offers students, faculty and staff access to high quality resources.

  • Library resources are tailored to specific subject areas, such as nursing.
  • The resources include books, articles, audiovisual materials (sound recordings, videos, etc.) in both electronic and print/hard copy.
  • The library's resources offer more search tools (like limits) to help you find relevant information.
  • The library pays for access to online full text--if you have ever tried to open an article you found using Google search and then seen a page asking you to pay to see the article, you have an idea of the value of the library's resources.

Laupus Computer Lab

The Computer Lab provides many services including an equipment loan programposter printing, and access to special software programs.

Chat with a Librarian

Chat with a librarian is only available 9a-5p Monday-Saturday.

Need to contact a librarian? Click here!

Or call us:

1-888-820-0522 (toll free)

252-744-2230

Research Help

Kerry Browder
Contact:
Phone: 252-744-0477
Office: 2532 Health Sciences Bldg
Subjects:Nursing

Research Help

Gina Firnhaber
Contact:
Laupus Health Sciences Library Office 2520

Phone 252-744-3055

firnhaberg@ecu.edu
Subjects:Nursing