Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate 101: Catalogs and Databases

One Search

 

Getting Started with One Search

One Search searches through The ECU Libraries print collection, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and numerous academic databases.

Rather than searching for these in separate databases, One Search lets you find them all at once, quickly and easily.

One Search is good for exploratory research to select a topic, discovering a broad overview of what's "out there," and it is a great way to find information in related disciplines.

Electronic Resources List

 

Understanding Databases

Library databases are typically collections of scholarly, magazine, and newspaper articles, and may also contain book chapters, conference proceedings, formatted reports, and other kinds of digitized research material.

Because library databases can contain the content of up to thousands of different journal titles, they are an essential tools for researchers.

 

 

Blacklight

WHAT DOES THE CATALOG SEARCH??

Most of our print collection is arranged by their Library of Congress call number. 

Click here for an overview of finding books based on call number.

E-journal/E-book Portal

Can be used to: search for articles by journal, see if ECU Libraries owns a particular journal, a way to access an article if another link isn't functioning properly

Citation Linker

Find articles by citation