Research Guides: Anthropometry: Books

Handbooks Available Online

Biomedical engineering and design handbook, 2nd ed.
By Myer Kutz. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2009. Available via netlibrary. Netlibrary books can be used by one person at a time -- if you are refused access try back a bit later.
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook
Available to the ECU community by subscription via McGraw Hill's AccessEngineering database. Limit one user at a time.
Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
Available to the ECU community by subscription via McGraw Hill's AccessEngineering database. Limit one user at a time.
AccessEngineering
McGraw-Hill's AccessingEngineering is available to the ECU community. Contains handbooks for many areas of chemistry and related areas. Limited to 1 user at a time.
Knovel
Provides reference data from major scientific and technical publications, along with analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data. Subject areas include biochemistry, chemistry, biotechnology, engineering, and pharmaceuticals. (ECU subscribes to selected sections of Knovel so occasionally you will be refused access to a title.

Try OneSearch!

Handbooks/Dictionaries Available in Print

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Call Number: Ref Q121 .M3 2012
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering by Gary L. Bowlin; Gary E. Wnek Covers all aspects of biomaterial use and development, including contributions from some four hundred experts in diverse fields across the range of research activity and biomedical applications of biomaterial technologies.
Call Number: Ref R857.M3 E63 2004
Humanscale 1/2/3: A Portfolio of Information by Niels Diffrient
Call Number: Ref TA166 .D54X
Anthropometry by C. G. Nicholas Mascie-Taylor; Stanley J. Ulijaszek; R. A. Foley; Nina Jablonski; Michael Little; Karen Strier; Kenneth M. Weiss Anthropometry is the measurement of human morphology, and is used in a wide range of applied and research contexts. In this volume, distinguished contributors including anthropologists, human biologists, physiologists, nutritionists and clinical scientists describe many of the ways in which anthropometry is used, and discuss problems associated with different methods of assessment. Topics include the measurement of growth asymmetry and variability in adult body size, measurement error and statistical issues in anthropometry and the construction and use of growth charts in growth monitoring. The use of anthropometry in assessments of body composition, physical performance and fitness is also discussed. The book will be of interest to graduates and researchers in human biology, anthropology and nutrition. It will also be useful to workers in sports medicine, ergonomics, orthopaedics and paediatrics.
Call Number: GN51 .A59 1994
Anthropometric Standardization Reference Manual by Timothy G. Lohman; Alex F. Roche; Reynaldo Martorell This edition of Anthropometric Standardisation Reference Manual contains 45 anthropometric measurement procedures, and also addresses special issues such as reliability and accuracy and details various applications.
Call Number: GN51 .A58 1988
ISBN: 0873221214