Research Guides: Architecture: Articles

Article Resources

The Seattle Public Library (shown below) represents an astounding achievement in library architecture and design. To find information on the library and other notable buildings, please use the resources on this page.

Journals in Architecture

Design Studies
Design Studies is the only journal to approach the understanding of design from comparisons across all domains of application, including engineering and product design, architectural design and planning, computer artefacts and systems design. It therefore provides a unique forum for the development and discussion of fundamental aspects of design activity and experience, from cognition and methodology to values and philosophy.
Architectural Science Review
Published continuously since 1958, Architectural Science Review (ASR) is the leading international peer-reviewed journal devoted to architectural science, technology and the built environment. ASR publishes original research papers, shorter research notes, and abstracts of PhD dissertations and theses in all areas of architectural science including building science and technology, the environmental sciences, environmental sustainability, structures and materials, audio and acoustics, illumination, thermal systems, building physics, building services, building climatology, building economics, ergonomics, history and theory of architectural science, and the social sciences of architecture and the built environment.
Journal of Architecture
The Journal of Architecture is jointly published by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and Routledge, an imprint of Taylor & Francis. It was launched in 1995 and is the longest standing, continuously published, international, refereed publication on architecture based in the UK. Now published six times a year, The Journal of Architecture has become widely recognized as one of the foremost journals in its field in the world.

These architecture journals along with others can be accessed using the E-Book/E-Journal portal.

Need a Specific Journal?

What's a 'Scholarly Journal'?

For many course assignments, you will be required to use scholarly journals. These are also called "academic' journals, 'peer-reviewed' journals, or 'refereed' journals. Here are some characteristics that distinguish scholarly journals from more popular magazines (see especially tips in red):

Scholarly Journals

Audience is made up of scholars, researchers, students of the field
Written by specialists in the field, usually scholars with Ph.D.s -- are signed and often include author's credentials.
Appearance is serious and sober, with few colors and few or no advertisements
Coverage is original research results and scholarship
Are written in technical and scholarly language and may be reviewed or "refereed" before publication by an editorial board or outside scholars
Articles are usually at least 7-10 pages in length
Supposed to present objective/neutral viewpoint; often published by professional associations such as National Communication Association
Frequency is usually quarterly or semi-annual
References are cited and usually includes a bibliography and/or footnotes
Examples are American Journal of Archaeology, Archaeological Reports, and Journal of Archaeological Method and Theory.

Try OneSearch!

Art and Architecture Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Art and Architecture.

Architecture: Articles

Article Resources

Journals in Architecture

Need a Specific Journal?

What's a 'Scholarly Journal'?

Try OneSearch!

Art and Architecture Databases

Chat with a Librarian

Understanding Databases

Google Scholar

Evaluating Resources