Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1100: Find Books and Articles

Introduction to One Search

Try OneSearch!

One Search is a great place to start your research. It allows you to simultaneously search through a variety of databases and the ECU Libraries' catalog.

One Search for articles, books, and other resources from the ECU Libraries' collection.
 

Understanding Databases

Choosing a Database

 

Getting Started with Databases

Databases are vast collections of digitized content, typically articles, streaming videos, and ebooks.  If you are new to database research, you can watch the video to the left for a brief introduction.  Databases play a huge role in college-level research, as they can contain the content of hundreds or even thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Most databases collect and index materials for only specific areas of study.  This subject focus allows researchers to search through a body of articles that relates primarily to their own disciplines and research questions.  And because the content of subject-specific databases is so focused, these databases can often contain helpful subject-customized search tools.

At other times, researchers may want a broader picture of what has been written about a given topic, with a sampling of the research being done across a wide range of subject areas.  Large multidisciplinary databases can provide students with this broader perspective.  ECU Libraries subscribes to numerous multidisciplinary databases.  Multidisciplinary databases cover all areas of study, so they can be an excellent place to look for information regardless of your topic.  Click on a multidisciplinary database name below to get started, or select a subject tab above to choose a subject-specific database.

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Humanities International Complete database.

Literature & Language

Philosophy & Religion

Arts & Architecture

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the ABI/INFORM Complete database.

Business 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Communication and Mass Media Complete database.

Communication

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Education Research Complete database.

Education 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the CINAHL w/Full Text database.

Health Sciences 

Subject-based Research Guides:

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Science Direct database.

Biology

Chemistry

Geological Sciences

Environmental Sciences

Physics & Astronomy

Mathematics

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the SocINDEX database.

Psychology

Sociology

Political Science

History

Criminal Justice

Subject-based Research Guides:

Humanities Database Tutorial
Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the Applied Science & Technology database.

 

Industry & Technology

Engineering

Construction Management

Computer Science