Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Alumni: Practicing abroad?

Information about electronic resources available to alumni of East Carolina University.

Other possibilities

Many journals will let you sign up for a free table of contents service.   You may not be able to access the articles, but you can see what's new.

Check favorite database vendors (such as RefWorks) for individual subscriptions.

Tell us where you're heading and we will try to help you find resources there.

 

Medline - via PubMed

While we suggest that you access PubMed through the Laupus website while you are at ECU (more full text that way) -- you can access PubMed directly from any Internet connection.   You will still have access to some full text.

Go to  PubMed  www.pubmed.gov

Some helpful tools for searching Medline via PubMed

    1.  Pubmed Basics http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/pmtri.pdf  or search PubMed Basics in any web browser 

      2.    Using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) - http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/meshtri.pdf

      3.    Video tutorials http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/dist_edu.html                                                            

You can use My NCBI to store searches and set up auto alerts via PubMed.  For more info on NCBI, go to   http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/myncbitri.pdf

 Need full-text?   Click on the full-text link or go to www.pubmed.gov and look at the FAQs under Using PubMed - PubMed Quick Start. 

RefWorks

RefWorks Alumni Program

  • Alumni are: students who have graduated from ECU; students who are transferring from ECU to a school that does not have RefWorks; retired employees.
  • Before the alumni leave ECU, they will need to create a back-up of their RefWorks database. This will have to be done on-campus or off-campus via proxy. (http://lib.ecu.edu/databases/go/393)
  • After they leave ECU, they will create a new account as outlined in the documentation below and import the back-up of the database.