Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Alumni: Staying in Greenville

Information about electronic resources available to alumni of East Carolina University.

NC Resources

Staying in NC?  Great! 

1.  You'll be able to access our AHEC system.  Through AHEC you can get access to the AHEC Digital Library resources.  Laupus is the site of the local AHEC Library.  For more information, go to Laupus Library's Outreach Services page

2. NC Live - www.nclive.org - NC LIVE provides North Carolina residents and students with access to high quality information - searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books, historical materials, maps, and much more - covering a wide range of topics.  Once your PirateID expires, contact your local public library for a password.

3. Use the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) to locate health sciences libraries near you.  http://nnlm.gov/.  From their site, click on the region, then the state where you will be.  You'll see a listing of libraries and contact info.  You can also click on Contacts here or on the top of the NNLM home page and find contact informaton for your Regional Medical Library. 

Greenville Resources

Glad to have you in Greenville (or close by)!

You have lots of options -

  • You can come to Laupus Library in-person and use resources in the buildilng.
  • You can purchase an Area Resident membership to ECU Libraries which will let you check out materials.  Visit the website or call  Access Services at 252-744-2219 for more information. 
  • Laupus is also the site of the local AHEC Library.  Through AHEC you can purchase a membership that provides remote access to the AHEC Digital Library resources.  For more information, go to Laupus Library's Outreach Services page.  
  • Working at a local hospital? Check with your education person/department. They may be able to provide you with free access.  

Medline - via PubMed

While we suggest that you access PubMed through the Laupus website while you are at ECU (more full text that way) -- you can access PubMed directly from any Internet connection.   You will still have access to some full text.

 

Go to  PubMed  www.pubmed.gov

Some helpful tools for searching Medline via PubMed

    1.  Pubmed Basics http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/pmtri.pdf  or search PubMed Basics in any web browser 

      2.    Using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) - http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/meshtri.pdf

      3.    Video tutorials http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/dist_edu.html                                                            

You can use My NCBI to store searches and set up auto alerts via PubMed.  For more info on NCBI, go to   http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/myncbitri.pdf

 Need full-text?   Click on the full-text link or go to www.pubmed.gov and look at the FAQs under Using PubMed - PubMed Quick Start. 

Other possibilities

1. Many journals will let you sign up for a free table of contents service.   You may not be able to access the articles, but you can see what's new.

2. Check favorite database vendors (such as RefWorks) for individual subscriptions.

 

 

3. As always, you can tell us where you're heading and we will try to help you find resources there.