Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Interior Design: Green Resources

e-Books

These e-books and many more are available in the Knovel reference database.


Table of Contents

Sustainable Construction - Green Building Design and Delivery (2nd Edition)

By: Kibert, Charles J. © 2008 John Wiley & Sons

Description: Broad enough to cover the needs of faculty and students in architecture, engineering, landscape architecture, interior design, and construction management, yet focused enough to serve as a reference for building owners and buyers of construction services, this Second Edition is a comprehensive look at an emerging process that is environmentally sound while making good economic sense. 

 

Table of Contents

 

Green Building Materials - A Guide to Product Selection and Specification (2nd Edition)

By: Spiegel, Ross; Meadows, Dru © 2006 John Wiley & Sons

Description: This book is an excellent hands-on guide to today's newest range of green building materials–what they are, where to find them, how to use them effectively, and how to address LEED requirements. 


Table of Contents

 

Sustainable Construction

By: Halliday, Sandy © 2008 Elsevier

Description: This book is a great resource for construction professionals striving to understand the environmental consequences of the work they do and the materials they work with, and to find effective and economic ways to minimise or eliminate negative outcomes.

 


Table of Contents

 

ASHRAE GreenGuide - The Design, Construction, and Operation of Sustainable Buildings (2nd Edition)

By: ASHRAE Press © 2006 Elsevier

Description: A proven, authoritative guide on how to make buildings and their energy systems truly "Green".

 


Table of Contents

Materials for Sustainable Sites - A Complete Guide to the Evaluation, Selection, and Use of Sustainable Construction Materials

By: Calkins, Meg © 2009 John Wiley & Sons

Description: This complete guide to the evaluation, selection, and use of sustainable materials in the landscape features strategies to minimize environmental and human health impacts of conventional site construction materials as well as green materials.

 

Table of Contents

Sustainable Design - Ecology, Architecture, and Planning

By: Williams, Daniel E. © 2007 John Wiley & Sons

Description: This book defines the issues of sustainable design, illustrates conceptual and case studies, and provides support for continued learning in this increasingly central focus of architects' and urban planners' work. 


 

Table of Contents

Engineering Guide to LEED-New Construction - Sustainable Construction for Engineers

By: Haselbach, Liv © 2008 McGraw-Hill

Description: This book provides a solid understanding of the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED-NC rating system, explaining step-by-step how to apply it to real-world construction projects.

Green Databases

Building Green
Building Green provides users with product reviews through GreenSpec, case studies, and full text articles from their journal, Environmental Building News. Users can register and log in to the BG Suite to participate in Reader-to-Reader discussions.

GreenFILE
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, and full text for more than 4,700 records.

Green Organizations

U.S. Green Building Council
The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) is a non-profit organization committed to expanding sustainable building practices.

Healthy Building Network

Sustainable Communities Network

Searching for Green Books?

You may search the library catalog for items housed in Joyner Library  which can be shipped to you. You may search by keyword, title, author, or subject.

Conduct a subject  search in the library catalog for those subject headings which are appropriate for your class.

Terms to locate green construction resources include:

Buildings -- Environmental aspects
Building materials -- Environmental aspects
House construction -- Environmental aspects