Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Interior Design: Government Documents

Housing and Construction Statistics

State and Local Areas
Statistics such as housing units and their characteristics; median value or rent; building permits, etc..  Includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas. 

County and City Extra:  Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Similar in format and content to the County and City Data Book, this publication provides statistical information for U.S. states, counties, metropolitan areas, congressional districts, and cities with populations of 25,000 or more.  The 2005 edition is available online via NetLibrary while the 2008 edition is available in print at:

Collection: Joyner Ref. Stacks
Call No.: HA 203 C68

Housing Statistics of the United States, 4th Ed.
A collection of housing statistics, much pulled from government sources.  Available in print at:

Collection: Joyner Ref. Stacks
Call No.: HD 7293 A1 H654

Historical Statistics of the United States
Definitive reference work containing over 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, including value of construction, cost and activity indexes, housing starts, number and characteristics of residential structures, vacancy rates, etc..  Available online and in print at:

Collection: Joyner Ref. Stacks
Call No.: HA 202 H57 2006

Places, Towns, and Townships 2003
An excellent resource for anyone in need of data for all of the nation's cities, towns, townships, villages, and Census-designated places--regardless of size--in one convenient source.  Available online at NetLibrary and in print at:

Collection: Joyner Ref. Stacks
Call No.: HT 123 P552 2003

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources.  Includes housing starts, home sales, vacancy rates, homeownership rates, construction employment, earnings, establishments, contracts, etc..

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The national data book in print (for electronic access, see STAT-USA below).  Contains statistics on the construction industry and the characteristics of housing. 
Available at:

Collection: Joyner Docs. Stacks
Call No.: C 3.134:

Collection: Joyner Ref. Desk
Call No.: HA 202 A2

U.S. Housing Market Statistics
Availabe online, this is a compilation of statistical data and written reports. Overviews of economic and housing market trends are presented for 10 geographical regions, the report for each of which includes a profile on a selected housing market. Each issue includes a summary of the overall trends in national housing and a topical piece that describes a particular, noteworthy aspect of housing activity.

Gov Doc Indexes

American Statistics Index
A comprehensive guide and index to the statistical publications of the U.S. Government.  Available in print from 1974-present at:
Collection: Joyner Docs. Index Table 2
Call No.: HA 203 A215x

Catalog of United States Governent Publications
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

CIS/Index
Congressional Information Service index to publications of the United States Congress.  Only available in print, at:
Collection: Joyner Ref. Stacks
Call No.: KF 49 C62

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications
Collection: Joyner Docs.
Call No.: GP 3.8/7

Images

San Gregorio Armeno, Interior Naples, Italy, begun 1572-80
This image and more available in ArtSTOR database.