It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
Build, grow, and change. It's what we've always done, what we do now, and what we will continue to do. Today our economy flourishes with a dynamic combination of manufacturing, education, and health care and ever expanding commercial, retail, and service sectors. We welcome you to join us in learning how Pitt County is "Creating The Future."
The N.C. Department of Commerce is the state's leading economic-development agency, working with local, regional, national and international companies. The department’s mission is to improve the economic well-being and quality of life for all North Carolinians.
The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. While the program’s primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the country’s leading social indicators.
Suggested subject keyword searches in the catalog: Vital statistics North Carolina; Population North Carolina
The State Demographics unit is primarily responsible for producing population estimates and projections. The annual estimates of the population of North Carolina counties and municipalities are used in the distribution of state shared revenues to local governments.
The State Demographics branch of OSBM is responsible for producing population estimates and projections. The annual estimates of the population of North Carolina counties and municipalities are used in the distribution of state shared revenues to local governments. County and state population projections, available by age, race (white/other) and sex, are used for long range planning.
Municipal officials in more than 540 North Carolina cities, towns and villages rely on the NCLM Directory of North Carolina Municipal Officials for essential information on active municipalities in this state.
Need help navigating the highways and byways of state and county government? Let the Directory of State and County Officials of North Carolina be your road map. Each year's edition contains thousands of names, addresses, telephone numbers, e-mail, and web addresses of government agencies in North Carolina.
The Business Resources Directory is designed to help North Carolina’s small business owners, business and economic development professionals, community leaders and citizens to locate the help they need to support business start-ups and expansions in their communities.
he North Carolina Education Directory is prepared and distributed annually by the Department of Public Instruction’s Division of Communication and Information Services as a service to educators and others interested in public education. The directory provides information on the State Board of Education, the Department of Public Instruction, educational associations and commissions, and individual school systems and charter schools.
This four-part report examines the potential for homegrown philanthropy to become a significant tool for community and economic development. It includes: 1) an overview rural philanthropy and community foundations, 2) an examination, county by county, of the likely intergenerational transfer of wealth in rural counties and prospects for capturing some of that wealth for community use, 3) profiles of successful rural philanthropy initiatives and 4) a directory of rural philanthropy resources. 53 pages.
The Eastern North Carolina Atlas of Mortality is a narrated collection of such statistical pictures that describe the spatial and temporal facets—the descriptive geography--of death in the eastern-most 41 counties of North Carolina (ENC).
The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics. We provide high quality health information for better informed decisions and effective health policies.
Formation of the North Carolina Counties, 1663-1943 by North Carolina. State Department of Archives and History
Call Number: NoCar Ref F262.A15 N63 1969
Publication Date: Raleigh, 1969.
A basic resource for genealogical research and the study of state and local history. It contains the date and history of the formation of each North Carolina county; a description, taken from the laws, of boundary lines; and maps (1700-1912) that show the development of the state from northeast to southeast and then westward.
Suggested subject keyword searches in the catalog: North Carolina History; [name of county] North Carolina History; [name of city] North Carolina History
With more than 11,000 entries, this volume is the first extensive bibliography of North Carolina to incorporate books, pamphlets, articles from hundreds of journals, and theses and dissertations from scores of universities. Using the incomparable holdings of the North Carolina Collection as well as other libraries and institutions, Jones includes entries dating from the first written description of North Carolina in 1524 through 1992. Entries are arranged by chronological period, then by subject, with author and subject indexes providing further access.
Suggested subject keyword searches in the catalog: Land use North Carolina [name of city or county]; City planning North Carolina [name of city]
The North Carolina State Parks System exists for the enjoyment, education, health and inspiration of all our citizens and visitors. The mission of the state parks system is to conserve and protect representative examples of the natural beauty, ecological features and recreational resources of statewide significance; to provide outdoor recreational opportunities in a safe and healthy environment; and to provide environmental education opportunities that promote stewardship of the state's natural heritage.
The state of North Carolina is constantly compiling and publishing statistics that focus on a number of facets of educational efforts in the state. These statistics assist in providing answers to these questions and enable decision makers to make informed decisions about curriculum, building needs, and other educational areas.
The Statistical Abstract of Higher Education in North Carolina has been compiled by the Division of Institutional Research and Analysis to give a detailed statistical view of higher education in North Carolina. The abstract presents both past and current academic year information. It is designed to provide legislators, educators, and other interested citizens of North Carolina with a statistical account of higher education in this State. From the abstract, the reader can gain some knowledge about who is being educated, where they are being educated, and the resources supporting their education.
The purpose of this profile is to provide general statistical data to the public, professional educators, and the General Assembly. This profile includes information on public school pupils, personnel, and finances.
Action for Children is a statewide, independent, non-partisan, non-profit child advocacy organization, dedicated to educating and engaging all people across the state to ensure that our children are healthy, safe, well-educated and have every opportunity for success.
he PHC-2, "Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics," report series provides sample data on a wide range of characteristics. Population characteristics data include disability status; earnings in 1999; educational attainment; employment status; full-time, year-round workers in 1999; income in 1999; journey to work; language spoken at home and ability to speak English; nativity; place of birth; poverty status in 1999; residence in 1995; school enrollment and type of school; veteran status; and work status in 1999. Housing characteristics data include bedrooms; gross rent; house heating fuel; kitchen facilities; mortgage status; occupancy; owner costs; plumbing facilities; rental cost; rooms; telephone service available; tenure; units in structure; value of home; vehicles available; year moved into unit; and year structure built.
This project is a partnership among the Jordan Institute for Families at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the North Carolina Division of Social Services and the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services.