It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
With more than 11,000 entries, this volume is the first extensive bibliography of North Carolina to incorporate books, pamphlets, articles from hundreds of journals, and theses and dissertations from scores of universities. Using the incomparable holdings of the North Carolina Collection as well as other libraries and institutions, Jones includes entries dating from the first written description of North Carolina in 1524 through 1992. Entries are arranged by chronological period, then by subject, with author and subject indexes providing further access.
Entries are arranged by chronological period, then by subject, with author and subject indexes providing further access. Among the sources included are some that are seldom found in state bibliographies, such as soil surveys of the counties and articles in small journals, such as The North Carolina Booklet. A separate chapter features more then 3,000 entries by county. Another chapter identifies libraries, archives and manuscript repositories, museums, and historic sites.
North Carolina: People and Environments, written by three geography professors from Appalachian State University, takes a broadly holistic view of the state and its geography. It describes how North Carolina’s natural and human resources interact in complex ways to form the modern state of North Carolina. The book makes an extensive use of the latest 2000 census data.
Major sections of the volume emphasize the following characteristics and issues:
North Carolina’s varied landscape, its natural resources (i.e. minerals, soils and abundant forests), relates to a geological evolution going back at least 1800 million years, and to a climate that has varied from arctic to tropical rainforest over time. Geologic upheavals and climate change have shaped the land and given its regions unique characteristics.
Publication Date: Asheboro, N.C.: Down Home Press, 2000
North Carolina has more than its share of oddly named places, and Jamie Cox has been fascinated with them since childhood. Why did people decide to name their communities Shakerag, or Ether, or Sharecake, or Bull Scrape, or Dumpling Town? How did Scratch Hall get its name? Or Burrtown? Or Hanging Dog? Why were so many places in North Carolina named for the devil? Jamie Cox spent years coming up with answers to these questions and many more.
Call Number: Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-27
As North Carolina enters a new century, perhaps no southern state faces a more intriguing combination of challenges and opportunities. Changes in the state's economy, shifts in its population, and a widening breach between urban and rural areas are just some of the forces that are reshaping North Carolina at this pivotal time in its history.
The North Carolina Atlas will be an invaluable aid in any effort to better comprehend the past, present, and future of our changing state. Using text and more than three hundred maps, charts, and photographs, the book offers an in-depth yet accessible look at the state's physical environment, history, population, and economy as well as such other aspects of life as government, politics, education, health, culture, and outdoor recreation.
Tracing the shifts and patterns that have made North Carolina what it is today, the book also forecasts where these and other trends are taking us in this new century.
Publication Date: Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, c2010
The North Carolina Gazetteer first appeared to wide acclaim in 1968 and has remained an essential reference for anyone with a serious interest in the Tar Heel State, from historians to journalists, from creative writers to urban planners, from backpackers to armchair travelers.
Publication Date: Charleston, SC: History Press, 2007
John Hairr Crafts a captivating study of the Tarheel State's rivers. The Cape Fear, the New, the Pee Dee: these are the streams that course through North Carolina's History, and Hairr navigates them all, while also exploring lesser-known waters. The only natural history to trace all of the state's rivers in a single volume--a must-read.
The index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.
This book is out-of-print; however it is available online. Subsequently analytical and data updates will be posted as results from the US 2010 Census progresses, and impacts of the current prolonged economic difficulties are assessed. In effect this effort will eventually provide a 3rd edition of this work.
Our State articles are abstracted in the North Carolina Periodical Index
Our State: Down Home in North Carolina celebrates the people and places that make this state great. From the mountains to the coast, featured articles include North Carolina travel, history, folklore and beautiful scenic photography.
NC.gov provides information on all state agencies, and can help with conducting transactions, finding contacts, and interacting with government programs. The search engine allows you to find information in all state government websites, not just NC.gov.