Research Guides: Psychology: Testing and Assessment

Testing and Assessment Resources

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780471239499
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology
Call Number: BF176 .A63 2013
Joyner Ref. Stacks
Also available at the Laupus Health Sciences Library
*Can't be checked out*
Handbook of Psychological Assessment
Call Number: Ebook
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment
Call Number: BF176 .S78 2007
Also available as an ebook
Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business
Call Number: BF176 .T43 2003
*2007 edition available at the Laupus Health Sciences Library*

Reliability and Validity

Reliability: The ability of a measure to produce consistent results when the same entities are measured under the same conditions.
Validity: Validity concerns the extent to which an instrument measures what it is intended to measure.

Learn more about validity and reliability by reviewing the entry on "Psychometrics: Norms, Reliability, Validity, and Item Analysis" (p. 759) in the ebook below.

The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead; Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2004

American Psychological Association - Assessment & Testing

Psychology Test Reviews

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by Joel Fischer; Kevin Corcoran
Call Number: Ref. Stacks BF 176 C66 2007
Tests in Print VII by Linda L. Murphy (Editor); Barbara S. Plake (Editor); Robert A. Spies (Editor); Buros Institute Staff
Call Number: Ref. Stacks LB3051 .T48 2006
Commissioned Reviews of 250 Psychological Tests by John Maltby (Editor); Christopher A. Lewis (Editor); Andrew Hill (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. Stacks BF 176 C65 2000
Test Critiques Compendium by Daniel J. Keyser (Editor); Richard C. Sweetland (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. Stacks BF176 .T4195 1987

Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provide users with comprehensive guides to contemporary testing instruments and all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
HAPI provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, tests).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Tips for searching:

* If you know the test or measurement:

Click the database link
Scroll to the bottom to where you may type that into the search

* For browsing tests and measures in articles:

Click the database link
Click the search button without entering any search terms,
Scroll down the left side to view the available tests and measures in your results

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print - Search Tips

Tip: After clicking the database name, you can browse tests by scrolling down to test category

Select a Field (Drop Down Boxes)

TI Title - Search by test title
AC Acronym - Search by the test's acronym
SC Scores - Search by what the test measures

Helpful Limiters (left side of your results list)

Test Category
Administration
Has Review

HAPI - Search Tips

Mandatory Searching Technique

Select "Multi-Field Search"
Choose "Fulltext"
Drop Down Options:

"Source Code" tells the database what type of source you want to search for. Search for Review Source.

Other Drop Down Search Options

"Measure Descriptor" determines what the test is measuring. Ex. Depression or Intelligence
Title: Search for tests by title Ex. Stanford-Binet
Acronym: Search for tests by acroynm.

You must always select "Source Review"