Federal Government Information: Find Images/Media

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.

Library of Congress, Smithsonian Institution, US National Archives, Brooklyn Museum, George Eastman House, National Media Museum, National Maritime Museum, Bibliothèque de Toulouse, New York Public Library, State Libraries of Queensland and New South Wales, Swedish National Heritage Board, National Galleries of Scotland, Library of Virginia, State Library of Florida, Musée McCord, Getty Research Institute, Brooklyn Museum, Nationaal Archief (Netherlands)

Joint Venture NTIS-1832 between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org. Features the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. This is your gateway to a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites.

Vast collections include images of aircraft, aeronautics facilities, historical research, planetary exploration, human exploration, robotic exploration, space related science, satellites (communication, weather, earth science), Soviet space exploration, launches and landings, Hubble Space Telescope, Cassini Mission and more.

Images of famous, pivotal, groundbreaking and odd moments in American history, eyewitness accounts, 20th century photos, panoramic photography, maps, political cartoons, women, Watergate, Depression era Federal art, elections and campaigns, presidential collections, Southeastern region archives, people at war, posters from World War II, work and workplaces and much more

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recor

The NOAA collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun. Because of this broad base of scientific expertise and the geographic range under which NOAA science and observations are conducted, the NOAA collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton.

Browse or search collections and images from:
Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
National Museum of Natural History
National Museum of American Indians
Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
National Air and Space Museum
National Postal Museum
National Portrait Gallery
Smithsonian American Art Museum

Access to over 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the Smithsonian. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Subjects included are birds and bird management, environmental sciences, fisheries, habitats and landscapes, history, invertebrates, plants, law enforcement, recreation, training and educational outreach, wildlife and wildlife refuges