Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign Languages: Find Articles

Finding Articles

The study of foreign languages may encompass many different types of research, including literary criticism, history, and culture. Below are only a few of the options available to those students and faculty in foreign languages. On the right, there is an option to click through to our database list for other types of research in foreign languages.

On this page you will find:

  • Links to databases to use in papers for foreign languages
  • A list of links to recommended journals for foreign languages

Foreign Language Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Foreign Languages.

Other Database Listings

If you are writing on a topic related to foreign languages, we have many other databases that you may wish to use. Click the following links to be taken to listings of databases at ECU for literature, history, and more.

Hint

If you need literature criticism of a particular author,

Type the author's name and the word "criticism".

Example: (jorge luis borges criticism).

Searching the MLA Database

You will use the database MLA Bibliography for a few of your scavenger hunt questions.

Here is what the search screen for the MLA Bibliography database looks like:

MLA Tutorial search box screen

 

Notice that I have circled where Scholarly and Language limiters are. There are other limiters on this screen that you may wish to use, including date, and publication type.

 

Let's say you do a search for "Mister Taylor" and limit it to "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed". This will be the results screen.

MLA International bibliography tutorial limiters page

You can also take the results and sort them by Relevance. You may wish to use the Date Descending or Date Ascending options.

InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU libraries do not have what you need.