Research Guides: Classical Studies: Finding Articles

Databases

L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
A searchable Index that includes a blend of full-text articles. A standard bibliographic tool for research in classical studies. Topics include: the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, with the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography, and with the support of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) and the National Endowment for the Humanities (USA). Content spans 1927 – Present.

Loeb Classical Library
A collection of Latin, Greek, and English texts available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database covers humanities broadly: Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies, 1973 - Present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Includes research journals in the humanities, archaeology, social sciences and sciences (includes botany). Journals are scanned, and include full page images. JSTOR's agreements with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," a fixed period of time from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
Perseus This link opens in a new window
The Perseus Project is a digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. It includes historical overviews, an encyclopedia, primary texts in Greek and English, and thousands of images and descriptions of vases, coins, scupture, buildings and sites.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to approximately many journals published by academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Search Joyner Library's collection of online materials.

Hesperia
Hesperia is published quarterly by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. Founded in 1932 to publish the work of the School, the journal now welcomes submissions from all scholars working in the fields of Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, materials science, ethnography, and literature, from earliest prehistoric times onward.
Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies
GRBS is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance, featuring research on all aspects of the Hellenic world from prehistoric antiquity through the Greek, Roman, and Byzantine periods, including studies of modern classical scholarship.