It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivaled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era.
Call Number: General Stacks D57 .C252 V. 1 PT. 1-2
The present volume begins with an account of what is known about the remotest geological ages and comprises chapters on the different kinds of evidence concerning man and his physical environment up to the end of the Predynastic Period in Egypt and the parallel stages of development in Mesopotamia, Persia, Anatolia, Palestine, Cyprus, Greece and the Islands.
From science to religion, politics to mathematics, and art to medicine, there are very few areas of our modern lives that are not in some way affected by classical Greece. Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World provides interdisciplinary coverage of this influential civilization.
The Cambridge Guide to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the classical world, combining the traditional strengths of classical subjects with new approaches examining the social and cultural features of the ancient Greek and Roman world.
Call Number: Reference Stacks DE5 .S75 1967 V. 1-3
Embracing the whole of ancient history and literature for more than two thousand years, the three volumes of the Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology provide a wealth of information on every significant figure mentioned by the Greek and Roman writers in the areas of history, philosophy, mathematics, the Arts, medicine, law, geography, architecture, and more.
Ancient Greek thought is the essential wellspring from which the intellectual, ethical, and political civilization of the West draws and to which, even today, we repeatedly return. In more than sixty essays by an international team of scholars, this volume explores the full breadth and reach of Greek thought--investigating what the Greeks knew as well as what they thought about what they knew, and what they believed, invented, and understood about the conditions and possibilities of knowing.
Written by two successful and practicing archaeologists, Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece, Updated Edition encompasses all aspects of ancient Greek lifefrom the beginnings of the Minoan civilization in Crete to the final defeat by the Roman world in 30 BCE.
From Achilles's heel to the sword of Damocles, Western culture teems with allusions from the rich heritage of classical literature, and this new edition of The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, the first updating since Sir Paul Harvey's original edition of 1937, provides the key to these works and the ancient Greek and Roman civilizations that produced them.