Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Open Access Books & Articles

Open Access Articles

OAIster
Collection of freely available, academically-oriented digital resources, many of them full-text.
Directory of Open Access Journals Search
Provides search interface for nearly 2M articles from more than 10K journals

Selected Disciplinary Repositories:

ArXiv
Open access to more than 1M e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Primary index for US funded research on education. Users may limit results to those items with full text freely available.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN aggregates some two dozen research networks in a variety of social sciences and humanities fields. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 585,400 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 485,800 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

NOTE: There are many open access journals, and many subscription publishers also offer open access articles. These are often found at the publishers' sites. Authors may also upload permitted copies of articles to their institutional repositories.