It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While you're a student at ECU, you have access to a wide range of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and academic resources that provide high-quality, credible information on health and nutrition. But what do you do when you graduate and no longer have access to this material? This section includes resources for reliable health information that is available to the general public.
Major Producers of Health Statistics
The U.S. Government collects a huge amount of health data. Agency websites serve as portals to finding health statistics on all kinds of topics, so they make a great starting place in your search for statistical information.
A portal to several CDC databases concerning health-related topics for public health information and numerical data sets such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics.
Major WHO databases include the Global Health Observatory (national statistics for health indicators), WHO Global Infobase Online (chronic diseases and risk factors), and the Global Health Atlas. Data is also accessible by topical categories.
Your Local Public Library
Depending on where you end up, your local public library will likely offer access to some article databases that you used while here at ECU. They may also be able to borrow articles and other material from other libraries through a service called "InterLibrary Loan." Ask about it at your local library!
Supports multiple Research Clusters. Formerly Family Health database. Contains blend of abstracts, indexing and full-text access to magazines and journals covering consumer health topics. Topics include: sports injuries, women’s health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care, dentistry, children’s health and more. Content spans 1988 – present.
Provides socioeconomic, health and demographic data for community assessment, strategic planning, identifying best practices for improvement, collaboration and advocacy for Eastern North Carolina communities. A resource for the community health needs assessment (CHNA).
Produced by laboratory professional societies, this site provides descriptions of laboratory tests including interpretation information. The site also includes a list of conditions and diseases along with the tests that are typically used in the diagnosis and treatment of these conditions and diseases.
This consumer health website includes a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, directories, Spanish language materials, tutorials and videos, all targeted for use by the general public. This reliable information is compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
NC Health Info is an online guide to Web sites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. Designed to meet the needs and interests of North Carolinians, NC Health Info leads users to resources that are reliable and easy to understand. Links on NC Health Info are selected and maintained by North Carolina librarians.