Research Guides: NUTR 6500: Pediatric Nutrition: Getting Started

Welcome

This Research Guide will help guide you through a variety of library and other reliable resources for your NUTR 6500 class and assignments.

Example Case Study

Seriously, Juice Is Not Healthy
Let's take a look at the example New York Times opinion article you read for class. What does the peer-reviewed research show?
Oxalate nephropathy due to 'juicing': case report and review.
This article presents a case and review of the potentially harmful side effects of a 'juicing' diet.
Juicing is not all juicy
This commentary was written in response to the article mentioned above and specifically highlights the risk of kidney disease.

Find Editorial & Op-Ed Articles

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and abstracts. Topics include: business, economics, markets and current headlines. Published by Dow Jones & Company, Inc., Wall Street Journal is a part of the ProQuest ABI/INFORM Collection. Content spans 1984 – Present.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of local, regional, and national newspapers. Provides access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Times, and Wall Street Journal. Also includes transcripts of television programs such as Dateline and 60 Minutes. Content spans 1980 – Present.
America's News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of regional, national, and international print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Provides groupings of materials pertaining to individual world regions such as the Middle East and Africa and under themes such as migration and the Cold War. Topics include: politics, business, health, sports, science and technology, cultural activities and people.
North Carolina Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from numerous newspapers in North Carolina. Titles include The Daily Reflector, Charlotte Observer, Asheville Citizen-Times, The News & Observer, Winston-Salem Journal, Greensboro News & Record.
Charlotte Observer - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text archive of the Charlotte Observer newspaper from 1882 to present.
Raleigh News and Observer - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text archive of the Raleigh News & Observer newspaper from 1879-present.
Greensboro News and Record - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
The primary newspaper of the Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point Triad region. It also provides coverage of national and international news. This database encompasses editions from 1906-Present.

New PubMed Info

A new PubMed is coming! Check out this guide to find out more about the changes and attend orientation on the new interface:

New PubMed Guide