Gale Primary Sources and Digital Scholar Lab

Enfer ("Hell") from the Bibliothèque nationale de France is one of the most storied and sought-after private case collections of forbidden books. The name alone invokes visions of damnation and moral ruin should one delve into its scandalous volumes. The collection was created in the 1830s to protect and isolate works that were considered contrary to the morals of the time. The books in Enfer span from the 1530s to the 2010s, providing a wide perspective throughout time and in different societies on what were considered to be erotic and/or pornographic works.

Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century looks at gender and sexuality in the centuries leading up to, and inclusive of, the period covered in Parts I and II, providing context to the materials in those collections. It examines topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology. It not only offers a reflection of the cultural and social attitudes of the past, but also a window into how sexuality and gender roles were viewed and changed over time.

Voice and Vision builds on the platform started with Issues and Identities and brings yet more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women's suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women's history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform.

Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922, is the third instalment of Gale's Women's Studies Archive series. Module three brings together over one million pages of women-authored works from the American Antiquarian Society, the pre-eminent collector of pre-20th century Americana, covering over a century of female writing. This unique corpus of female-authored literature centers on the American female experience in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

Female Forerunners Worldwide concerns women trailblazers, both individuals and organizations, who have impacted society through social reform, popular culture, healthcare and more. This fourth instalment of the Women's Studies Archive program will host women's history collections focusing on advertising and advertising to minorities; birth control and sex education; the Civil Rights movement; healthcare and women in medicine especially nursing; religion and women's missionary work; migration; minority groups esp. African American and Jewish women; women in politics; prison reform particularly female criminals and women's philanthropic organizations to improve women's prisons; psychic investigations and the paranormal and women's rights and fight for suffrage.

Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement - The collection consists of rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South - Avowedly a southern publication, the Southern Literary Messenger was the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but, the sectional crisis of the 1850s gave the contents of the magazine an increasingly partisan flavor. By 1860 the magazine's tone had shifted to a defiantly proslavery and pro-South stance.

Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project - This collection presents the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) publications of all 47 states involved in the project, which ran from 1933 to 1943. Forming the most complete collection of publications from all participating states, this archive contains more than 450 individual items, many of which are typed or mimeographed and received only limited circulation.

19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East - This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China's political, economic, and cultural landscape.