Skip to main content

Federal Government Information: Find Maps

How to find federal government information

Maps in Joyner Library

The Joyner Library Map Collection is housed in the basement of the library. The Research & Instructional Services Department is responsible for maintaining and servicing the collection, and for providing assistance to patrons with map questions.

Our collection contains a wide variety of maps. While the vast majority are topographic maps, we house geologic, hydrologic, bathymetric, photo image, and political maps. Also, we have nautical and aeronautical charts. Among the series we carry are USGS 7.5 minute topographical maps, CIA maps, Jet Navigation Charts, NOAA Nautical Charts, USGS geologic and hydrologic maps, and Bureau of Land Management maps.

Maps can be checked out at the Circulation desk on the 1st floor of Joyner Library

Types of maps available

Below is a chart of the different types of maps our department houses. On the left you will find the type of map and a brief description of the type. On the right you will find a list of the series we carry and information about coverage and scale.
 
 
 

Topographic Maps
     Gives a detailed description and representation of the physical features of an area. Has contour lines to show the shape and elevation of the terrain. North Carolina topographic maps can now be found in the North Carolina collection.
7.5 Minute topographical maps (1:24,000,  1: 25,000 and some 1: 62,500) series covers GA,  SC, TN, VA only

Various US maps (1:25,000) 7.5 minutes x 15 minutes GA, SC, TN, VA only
 
Army Mapping Service/ Defense Mapping Agency (AMS/DMA) maps (various scales) historic international maps
Geographical Section, General Staff (GSGS) maps (1:50,000 and 1:100,000) historic international maps
US Quad maps (1:100,000) 30x60 minutes, covers the US, some planimetric maps included (GA, NC, SC, TN, VA only)
Geologic Maps
     Uses a combination of lines, symbols and colors to show the composition and structure of land materials and their distribution across and beneath the land's surface.
State Geologic maps (1:250,000 and 1:500,000) covers GA, NC, SC, TN, VA only

United States Geologic Survey Geologic and Hydrologic maps (various scales) various coverage
Hydrologic Maps
     Show the occurrence, distribution and circulation of the Earth's waters
Ground Water Atlas of the United States (various scale maps in each volume) set currently incomplete
United States Geologic Survey Geologic and Hydrologic maps (various scales) various coverage
Bathymetric Maps
    Displays isobath or bathymetric contour lines to show the form of the land below the water's surface. Some show magnetic and gravity data in addition to water depths.
Bathymetric maps (1:100,000) covers various areas of the United States waters
Photo image Maps
     Maps produced from aerial photographs.
Orthophoto maps or quads (1:24,000 and 1:25,000) show subtle topographic detail in areas of low relief, covers some parts of the United States
Border maps (1:25,000) covers the US-Mexican border and parts of the US-Canadian border
Nautical Maps and Charts
     Displays features of navigable waters. Current editions updated frequently.
Nautical Charts (various scales) covers various areas of the world, generally used for navigation
US Nautical Charts (1:40,000) covers various parts of the United States
Nautical maps (scale unknown) covers various parts of the world, older map series
Aeronautical Charts
   Various maps used for flight navigation. Also, useful for coverage of a large area.
Tactical Pilotage Charts (TPC)
Operational Navigation Charts (ONC)
Aeronautical Charts (AGC)
USAF Aeronautical Approach Charts
Local Aeronautical Charts
AAF Aeronautical Charts
Jet Navigation Charts
USAF Jet Navigation Charts
Global Navigation and Planning Charts (GNC)
Local Visual Navigation USAF Pilotage Charts
USAF Pilotage Charts
Pilotage Charts - North Pacific Ocean
Enroute Low Altitude Charts
Joint Operations Graphics (ground)
Miscellaneous Maps
     Various maps.
State maps (1:500,000) displays land features such as highways, mountains and rivers
National Parks and Forests (various scales) a wide variety of tourist maps from national parks and forests (GA, NC, SC, TN, VA only)
Lunar maps (various scales) various maps of the Moon
SuDoc maps (various scales) various types of maps organized by the Superintendent of Documents classification number
Miscellaneous Foreign, Miscellaneous Latin American, and Miscellaneous US/North American (various scales)
CIA maps (various scales) political maps of the world