Occupational Therapy: Databases

anatomy.tv (also known as Primal Pictures) includes anatomical images, MRI scans, dissection slides, movies (including biomechanics animations), and clinical text. The head and neck, spine, hand, shoulder, thorax, pelvis, hip, knee, and foot are explored in a regional approach to anatomical study. The resource includes sports & therapy, dentistry, and surgical modules, and most content is exportable for use in lectures, posters, and other projects.

CINAHL covers the literature related to nursing and allied health fields, which include physical and radiologic therapy; cardiopulmonary, medical and laboratory technology; occupational therapy; radiologic technology; social assisting; the physician's assistant; surgical technology; and health education. CINAHL subject headings reflect the terminology used by nursing and allied health professionals, and approximately 70% of CINAHL headings also appear in MEDLINE.

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources. Materials include journal articles (mostly peer-reviewed), books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and more. Selectively full-text for the document (non-journal) portion of the database.

Provides access to peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Some content is available in full text. At this time Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content.

Provides access to the ICE (International Clinical Educators) Library of over 185 short video clips illustrating a wide range of diagnoses and treatment settings.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Tip: There are several versions of Ovid's Medline to choose from which vary by date. Many find it useful to select the first or second version and then limit dates for their searches.

This is the National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, which provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.

Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.

From the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes blend of abstracts, indexes and links to full-text of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure and treatment and prevention. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages. Content spans 1597 – present. Click here for a guide to this database.

An online collection of streaming video focused on the physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. Videos include footage of occupational, physical, and speech therapists working with actual patients as well as models and illustrations.

Comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering sports and sports medicine research. Topics include: physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, college and university sport, disabled persons, facility design and management, intramural and school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, public health, occupational health and therapy. Content spans 1800 – present. Access is limited to 4 users at a time. Click here for a guide to this database

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is a large collection of streaming videos covering the topics of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.

A collection of databases and publications representing worldwide transportation research. Combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

A searchable source of detailed publication information on academic and scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters in print and online. Spans more than 900 subject areas. Records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting and indexing availability, full-text database availability, tables of contents, title change history, and reviews written by librarians.