It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A good way to find issues in your chosen career is to visit an association or organization website that focuses on your field. There are professional and trade associations for almost every profession and industry. Their purpose is to promote the profession, represent the interests of professional practitioners, and answer any queries from the public.
Finding Information about your chosen Profession
Go to Occupational Outlook Handbook. The Handbook includes information about your profession, education requirements, earnings, links to information about the job market in each state, and trade association information.
Search for your career.
Note: Scroll to the section on "Sources of Additional Information" to find professional or trade associations that represent the field.
Examples of the kinds of groups you'll encounter include:
Professional Organizations are a helpful source for career information. Below are examples of large professional organizations. Check out the Occupational Outlook Handbook to identify groups that represent your future career.
The Occupational Outlook Handbook, published by the US Dept. of Labor, is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. No ECU login required.
Enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. Includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
Provides testing and education preparation including information on college, graduate and professional programs, professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests along practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams. Content: 1966 - Present.
In-depth coverage of business and management publications. Includes journals, dissertations, working papers, key business newspapers, trade publications, country-and industry-focused reports and data. Topics covered include business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information.