Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication: Media Studies: Find Specific Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

The following links will take you to databases containing local, national, and international newspapers.

Print and Online Newspapers

Joyner Library subscribes to many newspapers, both electronically and in print. Print newspapers can be located using the catalog.  To find titles in print, go to the Advanced Catalog Search and type in a newspaper's title in the field Journal Title (see below).

You can also search by keyword and then use the Material Group limiter to limit to Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers, as well as by language or publication year.

You can see here that there is online coverage for many years of this newspaper, but we also have holdings in Microform format for the older years. Click on Access Content Online to see the online material. Microforms are located in the basement of Joyner Library or in the North Carolina Collection.

Finding Newspapers Using the E-Journal Portal

If you are interested in only electronic holdings for a particular title, use the e-journal/e-book portal on the library home page to see whether we carry the title and what our coverage includes. Access the holdings by clicking on the database name beside the relevant coverage range. Notice the example below:

Find a Specific Journal

Browsing through a journal in your field can be helpful when choosing a topic. 

When you have a citation to a specific journal and you need to get the full text of an article from it.


When you want to just browse an online journal.