Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychiatry Resources: EBM

Evidence Based Medicine

EBM Reviews (all including Cochrane): This database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).

Clinical Evidence: BMJ Clinical Evidence is an international compendium of the best available research and evidence on the treatment of various medical conditions. This resource provides evidence-based synopses on the effectiveness of common clinical interventions.

Natural Medicines: Natural Medicines provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

PubMed Clinical Queries: Clinical Queries is designed to locate articles in PubMed with higher levels of evidence.  Use Clinical Queries to search by study type (etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis or clinical prediction guides) or search for systematic reviews, evidence-based practice guidelines and meta-analyses.

PubMed Main Search Page: This database contains over 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Apply limits for publication types with higher levels of evidence. Limit publication types to meta-analyis, randomized-controlled trials, etc to access EBM.

UpToDate: UpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly, easily, and at the point of care.

Ask a Librarian

Live Chat

Chat with a librarian is available 9-5 Monday-Saturday.

You can also contact a librarian.

Call us:

1-888-820-0522 (toll free)

252-744-2230

Or email us:

laupuslibrary@ecu.edu