Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, and more. 1864-Current
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 2000 academic journals, including many about the performing arts.
Oxford Reference - Performing Arts
Includes: The Oxford Companion to the American Musical, The Oxford Companion to American Theatre, The Oxford Dictionary of Dance, The International Encyclopedia of Dance, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google to find articles and access them through ECU Libraries.
One Search is a great place to start your research. It allows you to simultaneously search through a variety of databases and the ECU Libraries' catalog.
What's a 'Scholarly Journal'?
Also known as academic journals, peer-reviewed journals, or refereed journals. These are distinguished from popular magazines or trade journals.
Audience is made up of scholars, researchers, students of the field
Written by specialists in the field, usually scholars with Ph.D.s -- are signed and often include author's credentials.
Appearance is serious and sober, with few colors, few or no advertisements
Coverage is original research results and scholarship
Written in technical, scholarly language; may be reviewed or "refereed" before publication by an editorial board or outside scholars
Articles are usually at least 7-10 pages in length
Frequency is usually quarterly or semi-annual
References are cited and usually includes a bibliography and/or footnotes
Theatre Journal; Dance Research; Dance Research Journal.