Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Resources: Finding Articles

Help with Searching

This page is an overview of the role of articles and how to find them.

If you need help with basic searching, contact your liaison librarian for 1-on-1 help, or use the guide Search Basics for the Health Sciences.

Databases

The following electronic resources (or databases) are the most appropriate places to start looking for articles.

For a full list of databases see: Nursing Databases

Articles vs. Books

Books are great resources for finding a broad overview of a topic, basic information or historical information. If you need to understand a specific nursing theory or read about a key figure in nursing history, a book would be a good resource. A book would not be an appropriate resource if you needed information about the most recent treatment for a disease or condition.

Articles are typically more specific and current. If you have a very narrow topic such as 'alarm fatigue among nurses', or if you need the most recent information on a disease, condition, drug, etc., articles are the best resources. It takes years to write and publish a book, meaning that by the time a book gets published, its contents may already be out of date. It is important to keep this in mind as you select the resource type at the beginning of an assignment or research process.

Clinical Resources

Just need full text?

If you already have a citation you can use the following link.
Find Full Text Articles

If you are searching within a database, try using the "Find It" button.

Having Problems?

Step by Step Help Sheet

Help Sheets and Tutorials

Help Sheets and Tutorials Page

We have several printable help sheets and brief (5 min.) video tutorials that you can use to guide you through database and library searching.

Interlibrary Loan

If we don't have an item or article you need we have a service called Interlibrary Loan that will help find it in another library and get it for you. Distance education students may also use this service to request delivery of Laupus Library materials.

Interlibrary Loan for more information.