It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This website includes biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. Biographical portraits from newly uncovered dictionaries as well as from other published reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands.
An extensive directory of short biographies on significant, influential, and infamous figures from throughout American history. Maintained by the American Council of Learned Societies and published by Oxford University Press. Also includes numerous illustrations.
Provides access to literary biographies, profiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Includes Documentary and Yearbook Series.
Comprehensive full-text online access to Gale’s reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. Contains illustrated biographical profiles of children’s authors and illustrators, including citations of their works. Totals over 290 volumes, 20,000 entries and nearly 30,000 images.
A directory of comprehensive profiles on influential and accomplished individuals from all disciplines including government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Searchable by by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, and religion.