Research Guides: HIST 3000/4000: Goverment Documents: Congress

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress was established by an Act of Congress in 1800. This image is of its reading room.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation - U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875:
Library of Congress site offering the full text of historical Congressional publications. Browse by publication or search.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text of publications from and about the U.S. Congress. It includes congressional bills, hearings, testimony, reports, committee prints, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and Statutes at Large. Biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data are provided for current members of Congress.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
US Congressional Serial Set:
The Serial Set provides more than 2.5 million pages of government documents on a wide variety of topics. Reports, documents, journals, memorials, and more from the US Senate and House of Representatives provide a wealth of primary source material. Current full text coverage is from 1817-1994. Search the Serial Set in conjunction with the American State Papers (1789-1839) using the Archive of Americana. (ECU Users Only)
Archive of Americana
American State Papers, 1789-1838. Search or browse these legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Search or browse the reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.