Research Guides: Merchandising: Getting Started

Background Information

Try searching these materials for definitions, facts, and background information.

American Decades and print Ref 169.12 A419 1994

American Decades Primary Resources and print Ref E 169.1 A471977 2004

The Complete Fashion Sourcebook Ref GT 596 P393 2005

Men's Fashion: the Complete Sourcebook GT 1710 P43 1996

These titles can be found in the Joyner Library Reference Department.

The Fairchild Encyclopedia of Menswear
TT 617 G39 2008

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Ref GT 31 G74 2004

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History
Ref GT 507 G74 2008

Encyclopedia of Fashion Accessories
Ref TT 503 T67 2003

Encyclopedia of Hair
TT 957 S46 2006

American Factfinde r Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
An extensive directory of short biographies on significant, influential, and infamous figures from throughout American history. Maintained by the American Council of Learned Societies and published by Oxford University Press. Also includes numerous illustrations.
Who's Who This link opens in a new window
A directory of comprehensive profiles on influential and accomplished individuals from all disciplines including government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Searchable by by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, and religion.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Index that provides access to biographical sketches in editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Contemporary Designers Ref NK 1390 C655 1997

Contemporary Fashion Ref TT 505 A1 C66 2002

The Fashion Encyclopedia Ref TT 503 H68 1982

Who's Who in Fashion Ref TT 505 A1 S74 2004