Research Guides: Linguistics: Articles

Linguistics Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Linguistics.

Articles and Online Reference Materials

Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window An extensive, searchable collection of books and journals pertaining to communications and media studies. For some titles, content is limited to abstracts only. Topics include: linguistics, rhetoric, broadcasting, and discourse. Content spans 1900 – Present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Years of Coverage: 1963 - Current
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window An extensive index of bibliographic information for sociology research. Provides records from leading sociology journals. Topics include: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes blend of abstracts, indexes and links to full-text of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure and treatment and prevention. Ninety-seven percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material selected from periodicals in multiple languages. Content spans 1597 – present. Click here for a guide to this database.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Provides a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information in all fields of education, from early childhood to higher education. Topics include: educational specialty fields, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Blackwell Reference Online This link opens in a new window Authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences from Wiley-Blackwell’s collection of reference works.

Social Sciences Database Tutorial

Click the button above to be taken to a Guide on the Side tutorial that will teach you how to search in the SocINDEX database.

Recommended Journals

Here is a list of recommended journals for the Linguistics field.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: Social Sciences

View the following PowerPoint tutorial to learn more about the structure of a scholarly article in the Social Sciences.

Linguistics: Articles

Finding Research

Linguistics Databases

Articles and Online Reference Materials

Social Sciences Database Tutorial

Recommended Journals

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: Social Sciences