Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Books

Subject Guide for Philosophy

Searching for Books?

You may search the library catalog for items housed in Joyner Library.  You may search by word or phrase, author, title, or subject.

Conduct a subject search in the library catalog for those subject headings which are appropriate for your class by selecting the "begins with..." search type and choosing "subject" from the drop menu.  Examples include:

  • Kant, Immanuel, 1724-1804 -- Knowledge, Theory of

  • Ontology -- Early works to 1800

  • Plato -- Contributions in political science

  • Phenomenology--History

Also, try word or phrase searches such as:

  • hume and philosoph*

  • ontology and zeno

  • nietzsche and eternal return

  • lewis and modal realism

*Note:  By using an asterisk, all forms of a term will be searched.  In this example, catalog returns will include philosophy, philosopher, philosophers, etc.  For assistance, please contact a librian thorugh the options listed under "get help."

Reference Resources

Print Reference Resources


Encyclopedia of Philosophy  2nd ed.
Joyner Ref. Stacks B51 .E53 2006

The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought
Joyner Ref. Stacks DC33.7 .C575 2006

The Dictionary of Twentieth-Century British Philosphers
Joyner Ref. Stacks B104 .D52 2005

Jewish Philosophy A-Z
Joyner Ref. Stacks B154 .H84 2005

Epistemology A-Z
Joyner Ref. Stacks BD161 .B533 2005B

American Philosophers, 1950-2000
Joyner Compact Ref. PS221 .D49X VOL. 279

Philosophical Dictionary  Enl. ed.
Joyner Ref. Stacks
B791 .B765 2003

British Philosophers, 1500-1799
Joyner Ref. Stacks PS221 .D49X VOL. 252

The Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century British Philosophers
Joyner Ref. Stacks B1561 .D53 2002

The Philosophy of Law : an Encyclopedia
Joyner Ref. Stacks K204 .P49 1999 V. 1

The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
Joyner Ref. Stacks B803 .E35 1999B

Delivery Options

Joyner Library provides numerous resources and services for our distance education students and faculty.  All services are designed to support the unique research and curriculum needs of remote users.  Students and faculty may search for books, journal articles, and other library materials through the library's online catalog, full-text databases, and additional electronic resources.  Distant users living outside of Pitt County may receive materials from Joyner Library through the library's documenet delivery service.

Outside Pitt County?
Book Delivery

Inside Pitt County
Pull & Hold Service



Nietzsche
Munch, Edvard, 1863-1944
1905-6

This image and more available in the ARTstor database.