Before you begin your research you need a topic. To get topic ideas and background information, look at encyclopedias, textbooks, professional society websites, journals, news sites, or newspapers.
When you're reading about your topic, write down some keywords or phrases. These terms will help you when you're ready to search for articles.
Write down the topic you're interested in researching
Example: Migratory patterns of Killer Whales in the Pacific
Breakdown you topic into keywords.
Example: Migratory patterns of Killer Whales in the Pacific
Next, right of list of synonyms for each keyword
Example:
Migratory patterns - migration, migrate, range, habitat Killer Whales - Orca, Orcinus orca Pacific - Pacific Ocean
Choose a database and plug the keywords into different search boxes. If you only have one search box, you can use an AND in between the words
Example: Migratory patterns AND orcinus orca AND pacific ocean
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by
From the classic work of Darwin to current developments in such fields as psychology and economics, evolutionary biology is an increasingly powerful tool for understanding the natural world. Here in two volumes is a comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.
Hint for Searching for a topic
When searching for a topic on an association or society website, you may want to start your search by looking at the "news" or "media" page of the website. This will give you an idea of what topics or issues are important to the association/society, as well as topics they may have recently published about.
Please keep in mind that News Articles are just that....NEWS!!!! News Articles are meant to give you an idea of the current topics or issues within a discipline, however the information they present may not be accurate. You will need to go back to the original source, the original research article, before using any of this information in your academic papers. If you need help accessing an original article contact a librarian.
National Science Foundation - Biology News
Biology News Net
