Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 1051/1101: Biology Information Literacy Tutorial: Find Articles

Search Strategies

Write down the topic you're interested in researching

Example: Migratory patterns of Killer Whales in the Pacific

 

Breakdown you topic into keywords. 

Example: Migratory patterns of Killer Whales in the Pacific

 

Next, right of list of synonyms for each keyword

Example: Migratory patterns, migration, migrate, range, habitat

Killer Whales, Orca, Orcinus orca

Pacific, Pacific Ocean

 

Choose a database and plug the keywords into different search boxes.  If you only have one search box, you can use an AND in between the words

Example: Migratory patterns AND orcinus orca AND pacific ocean

To listen to an audio recording of this concept, please click the play button below:

Find a Specific Journal

Browsing through a journal in your field can be helpful when choosing a topic. 

When you have a citation to a specific journal and you need to get the full text of an article from it.


When you want to just browse an online journal.

Symbols Explained

  = click on this button to retrieve full-text if available from a database that Joyner subscribes to.

   = click here to find out about the database

 = indicates that the databases is full-text

Science Databases

Biology Databases

The following are direct links to all of the subscription databases for ECU Libraries on the subject of Biology.