Books represent a large amount of the material housed in Joyner Library and online. Books can be found in the catalog.
On this page, you will find:
Using the Catalog
Use the ECU Library Catalog to search by author, title, subject, or a search phrase such as "gender AND religion."
The "Find materials by" column on the left side of the page will allow you to filter by library, format, publication date, among other options. For example to display results for print books only, select "Print" under "Format."
Understanding Call Numbers
When you search the library catalog, titles will appear in search results with a link to the content. Print book titles will appear with a call number listed to help you find the book. Call numbers are used to describe the subject of a book or other work and they allow libraries to group materials together by subject.
The call number for the title pictured above is BL626.L48 1989. This title was found by searching the library catalog for the phrase "religion and possession."
To find a physical book by its call number, consider the letter(s) at the beginning first, then consider the numbers. The materials are arranged alphabetically, and then numerically by their call numbers. In the example above, you would find the "BL" section, then the BL600s.
Most of the general print items related to religion, for example, are on the second floor of the library in the B section.
Placing a Hold
To avoid looking for books and other items in the library stacks by yourself, you can place a hold. To place a hold, click on the title you want to check out. Then click "Place Hold" on the bottom right. You will be prompted to login with your Pirate ID.
The library will notify you when it is time to pick up your hold at the circulation desk.
Catalog Search Tips
Lists of Example Titles on Related Topics
The following links will lead you to example titles in our library catalog. Chose a topic you are interested in and explore titles.
Extraterrestrial and United States
Specific Special Collections Titles
This list was created for RELI-3700 by librarian Kristen Daniels.
| Book | Collection |
| Ghosts and Witches of Martin County | NC Stacks |
| The Haunted South: Where Ghosts Still Roam | NC Stacks |
| Ghost Stories of Old New Bern | NC Stacks |
| Tar Heel Ghosts | NC Stacks |
| Haunted Wilmington and the Cape Fear Coast | NC Stacks |
| Supernaturals Among Carolina Folk and their Neighbors | NC Stacks |
| Witches and Demons in History and Folklore | NC Stacks |
| This Haunted Land | NC Stacks |
| Cursed in the Carolinas: Stories of the Damned | NC Stacks |
| Ghosts of the Outer Banks | NC Stacks |
| Lighthouse Ghosts & Carolina Coastal Legends | NC Stacks |
| Boo: N.C. Ghost Guide | NC Reference |
| A Sudden Wild Magic | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| The Quest of the Golden Stairs: A mystery of Kinghood in Faerie | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| Witches | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| Devils and Demons: A Collection | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| Ghosts by Gaslight: Stories of Steampunk and Supernatural Suspense | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| Wise Child | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| Amazing Grace: A Novel | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
| Wizards and Warlocks | Schlobin Fantasy Collection |
Want to contact Special Collections for help with titles like these? Email specialcollections@ecu.edu
Reminder: OneSearch and Online Journals and eBooks
As with journal articles, you can find books using OneSearch or by using the Online Journals and eBooks link. Keep in mind that the Online Journals and eBooks link will provide you with ebooks but not print books. OneSearch can locate both print books and ebooks.
As with journals, you can use the Online Journals and Books link to browse by title or subject. This is a helpful feature because you can narrow down to a more specific subject, as shown in the example below.
Using Interlibrary Loan
You can request articles, books, media, and more from other libraries when ECU Libraries does not have the title you need. Visit the ILL page and log in with your PirateID to create a request.