This page contains suggestions for books to read on transgender health care divided into the following categories of health care.
Books with titles in blue are those that ECU provides through the catalog online, and the blue text is a link to that webpage. Other books can be requested through the ECU Libraries ILL service.
Transgender Health
by
BMA Medical Book Awards Finalist The number of people coming out as transgender continues to rise, and this book shows healthcare and medical practitioners how to deliver excellent primary and secondary care to gender diverse patients. This guide provides accessible and practical advice on tailoring the social and ethical aspects of practice to the needs of each individual. Beyond setting out how clinical procedures should work for gender reassignment, it explains how to use language and pronouns in a respectful way, provides information on transgender services and resources, and offers insights into the challenges commonly faced by transgender people in both medical and social contexts. Based on cutting edge research and the lived experience of the author as a non-binary person, this is essential reading for all those working to meet the needs of transgender people in healthcare settings.
Gender Affirmation
by
Gender Affirmation: Medical and Surgical Perspectives -- This sensitively written, comprehensive book is a must-have roadmap for every physician and caregiver as they master the techniques to support the profound journey of their transgender patients. The rapid evolution of transgender medicine and surgery has inspired an ever-growing number of practitioners to care for transgender individuals. What was once a niche specialty has now sparked the interest of the international medical community. With the formation of the World Professional Association of Transgender Health (WPATH) and academic surgical centers now accepting trainees, a new generation of physicians are committed to providing the highest level of care for transgender individuals. This book delivers robust, essential content from internationally recognized innovators and veterans in the field, including cutting-edge techniques for all gender transition surgeries. These experts provide detailed coverage of the processes that help patients transition to their true gender, including: Facial Feminization Surgery Speech Modification Top and Bottom Surgeries Management of Unfavorable Outcomes Treating Transgender Adolescents and Children Hormone Therapy Mental Health Care for Transgender and Gender Nonconforming Patients Sexual Health Issues After Gender Affirmation Surgery Gender Expression and Image An e-book and video clips are also provided to allow readers to access these topics in any setting. Gender affirmation surgery is among the most challenging of all surgical procedures because of the anatomic complexities, the risk of complications, the need to preserve sensorineural, urinary, and sexual function while striving to obtain optimal aesthetic results.
Supporting Transgender Autistic Youth and Adults
by
Providing advice on how professionals working with autistic trans youth and adults can tailor their practice to best serve their clients and how parents can support their trans autistic children, this book increases awareness of the large overlap between trans identities and autism. By including chapters on gender diversity basics, neuroqueer trauma and how to support neuroqueer individuals, this book sets out strategies for creating more effective support that takes into account the unique experiences of trans people on the spectrum. Written by a therapist who identifies as neuroqueer, this book is the perfect companion for professionals who want to increase their knowledge of the experiences and needs of their trans autistic clients.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Healthcare
by
Written by experienced clinicians and edited by Vanderbilt Program for LGBTI Health faculty, this book contains up-to-date expertise from physicians renowned for their work in LGBT health. This important text fills an informational void about the practical health needs of LGBT patients in both the primary care and specialty settings remains, and serves as a guide for LGBT preventive and specialty medicine that can be utilized within undergraduate medical education, residency training, and medical practice. Beginning with a short review of LGBT populations and health disparities, it largely focuses on the application and implementation of LGBT best practices within all realms of medical care. In addition, the book offers recommendations for the integration of LGBT health into systems-based practice by addressing intake forms and electronic health records, as well as evidence-based emerging concerns in LGBT health. This is a must-have volume for medical students, residents, andpracticing physicians from all medical specialties.
Transgender Medicine: A Multidisciplinary Approach
by
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide
by
The first case-based comprehensive textbook to address the unique health care needs of transgender and gender diverse adults A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Demand for state-of-the-art health care services for transgender and gender diverse communities is rapidly increasing. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide offers a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients. With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides guidance on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, this invaluable resource offers a foundation for clinicians when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide features essential information that includes the following topics and more: The history and epidemiology of transgender and gender diverse health care Primary, preventive, and specialty care considerations for transgender and gender diverse patients Hormonal, surgical and non-medical gender affirmation Trauma-informed and gender-affirming care Behavior health, eating disorders and body positivity Reproductive health, obstetrical care, and family building Treatment of HIV and sexually transmitted infections Community building, advocacy and partnership
Standards of Care for the Health of Transgender and Gender Diverse People, Version 8
by
Background: Transgender healthcare is a rapidly evolving interdisciplinary field. In the last decade, there has been an unprecedented increase in the number and visibility of transgender and gender diverse (TGD) people seeking support and gender-affirming medical treatment
in parallel with a significant rise in the scientific literature in this area. The World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH) is an international, multidisciplinary, professional association whose mission is to promote evidence-based care, education, research, public policy, and respect in transgender health. One of the main functions of WPATH is to promote the highest standards of health care for TGD people through the Standards of Care (SOC). The SOC was initially developed in 1979 and the last version (SOC-7) was published in 2012. In view of the increasing scientific evidence, WPATH commissioned a new version of the Standards of Care, the SOC-8.
Aim: The overall goal of SOC-8 is to provide health care professionals (HCPs) with clinical guidance to assist TGD people in accessing safe and effective pathways to achieving lasting
personal comfort with their gendered selves with the aim of optimizing their overall physical
health, psychological well-being, and self-fulfillment.
Methods: The SOC-8 is based on the best available science and expert professional consensus
in transgender health. International professionals and stakeholders were selected to serve
on the SOC-8 committee. Recommendation statements were developed based on data
derived from independent systematic literature reviews, where available, background reviews
and expert opinions. Grading of recommendations was based on the available evidence
supporting interventions, a discussion of risks and harms, as well as the feasibility and
acceptability within different contexts and country settings.
Results: A total of 18 chapters were developed as part of the SOC-8. They contain
recommendations for health care professionals who provide care and treatment for TGD
people. Each of the recommendations is followed by explanatory text with relevant references.
General areas related to transgender health are covered in the chapters Terminology, Global
Applicability, Population Estimates, and Education. The chapters developed for the diverse
population of TGD people include Assessment of Adults, Adolescents, Children, Nonbinary,
Eunuchs, and Intersex Individuals, and people living in Institutional Environments. Finally,
the chapters related to gender-affirming treatment are Hormone Therapy, Surgery and
Postoperative Care, Voice and Communication, Primary Care, Reproductive Health, Sexual
Health, and Mental Health.
Conclusions: The SOC-8 guidelines are intended to be flexible to meet the diverse health
care needs of TGD people globally. While adaptable, they offer standards for promoting
optimal health care and guidance for the treatment of people experiencing gender
incongruence. As in all previous versions of the SOC, the criteria set forth in this document
for gender-affirming medical interventions are clinical guidelines; individual health care
professionals and programs may modify these in consultation with the TGD person.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Affirmative Mental Health Care for Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth: A Clinical Guide
by
A Clinician's Guide to Gender Actualization
by
A Clinician's Guide to Gender Actualization provides an essential guide for mental health professionals working with gender diverse clients, delivering material that challenges clinicians to provide affirming specialized care for their clients. Gender actualization is the social, expressive, and existential process of becoming and integrating one's authentic self through the context of gender identity, and this book introduces an effective clinical model for competent gender therapy care. Building upon the reader's foundational knowledge, chapters provide useful assessment tools, interventions, and treatment strategies to implement in their clinical practice, with accompanying personal narratives and client experiences woven throughout. Challenging readers to explore intersectionality and the crucial awareness of their own privileges, this book is a critical read for providers working with or seeking to educate themselves regarding gender diverse clients.
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health
by
This cutting-edge guide spotlights some of the most exciting emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice. It will equip professionals at institutions with mental health programs that deal with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues with information and insight to help psychologists, mental health clinicians, and counselors better serve the LGBT populations that, increasingly, are seeking their services. The book begins with introductory chapters that present an overview of the field, chronicle the relationship between the LGBT community and the field of psychology in past decades, and identify emerging issues covered in the volume. It then addresses subjects such as social psychology and LGBT populations, health disparities and LGBT populations, the evolution of developmental theory related to the LBGT populations, emerging policy issues in LGBT health and psychology, and recent efforts to make the field of psychology more trans-inclusive and affirmative. Chapters are also dedicated to examining contemporary, LGBT-affirmative psychoanalysis and treating addictions and substance abuse in the LGBT community. The book concludes with chapters that address how the concept of intersectionality can serve as a way to better understand LGBT members who possess multiple cultural identities and the unique stressors they experience in daily life. The final chapter summarizes issues that bridge the contributions provided by the authors, and it highlights current issues of focal concern in order to project future directions for the field of LGBT psychology in the next two decades.
Surgical Management of the Transgender Patient
by
Comprehensive and current, the new Surgical Management of the Transgender Patient provides coverage of the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care of transgender individuals. It takes a step-by-step approach to both transmale and transfemale procedures, and presents detailed descriptions of the techniques and procedures employed by today's surgeons. Featuring full-color illustrations and photos throughout, it's a must-have resource for individuals and programs with an interest in gender confirmation surgery. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Takes a systematic approach to the surgical management of transgender individuals, describing preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Features atlas-style surgical chapters. Guides the user step-by-step through both transmale and transfemale procedures. Provides coverage of hot topics in surgery, including metoidioplasty, chest surgery, and phalloplasty. Full-color design with illustrations and photos enhances your visual understanding.
Atlas of Operative Techniques in Gender Affirmation Surgery
by
As transgender and gender non-binary individuals are a growing demographic, the number of patients seeking gender confirmation surgery is increasing. Atlas of Operative Techniques in Gender Affirmation Surgery is a highly illustrated and practical guide to the different types of gender affirmation surgery. Top and bottom surgeries are illustrated include facial feminization, mastectomy, techniques in phalloplasty, metoidioplasty, different approaches to vaginoplasty, management of complications of gender affirming surgery, and more. This comprehensive textbook is a must-have guide for individuals interested in gender affirmation surgery to master the complex operative procedures that this field demands and to refine their techniques.
Transforming Voice and Communication for Transgender and Gender-Diverse People
by
The Transgender Athlete
by
The Transgender Athlete: A Guide for Sports Medicine Providers presents sports medicine practitioners insights into the unique issues and concerns of transgender athletes in order to help them understand rules regarding transgender athlete participation and learn how to better provide competent care to transgender athletes. There are over 1.4 million transgender adults in the United States. Transgender individuals undergo gender-affirming treatments including sex hormone therapy and gender-affirming surgery. An increasing number of transgender people are participating in sports and presenting to sports medicine clinics with injuries, yet there is little research about this athlete population. It is important that sports medicine providers understand the types of hormone treatments and surgeries and how these changes affect the musculoskeletal health of transgender people. Additionally, transgender people may require specific considerations when interacting with medical providers. Furthermore, sports medicine providers are often consulted to formulate transgender athlete inclusion policy. These policies are continuously changing, as new evidence becomes available, which may be difficult to understand without knowledge of the gender transition process.
Cancer and the LGBT Community
by
This book covers the scope of current knowledge of cancer in the LGBT community across the entire cancer continuum, from understanding risk and prevention strategies in LGBT groups, across issues of diagnosis and treatment of LGBT patients, to unique aspects of survivorship and death and dying in these communities. Each chapter includes an in depth analysis of the state of the science, discusses the many remaining challenges and unanswered questions and makes recommendations for research, policy and programmatic strategies required to address these. Focus is also placed on the diversity of the LGBT communities. Issues that are unique to cancer in LGBT populations are addressed including the social, economic and cultural factors that affect cancer risk behaviors, barriers to screening, utilization of health care services, and legislation that directly impacts the health care of LGBT patients, healthcare settings that are heterosexist and unique aspects of patient-provider relationships such as disclosure of sexual orientation and the need for inclusion of expanded definition of family to include families of choice. The implications of policy change, its impact on healthcare for LGBT patients are highlighted, as are the remaining challenges that need to be addressed. A roadmap for LGBT cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis, survivorship, including treatment and end of life care is offered for future researchers, policy makers, advocates and health care providers.
Gender-Affirming Psychiatric Care
by
Integrating cutting-edge neuroscience, clinical research, best practices, mental health systems design, and mental health policy, Gender-Affirming Psychiatric Care is the first textbook in the field to provide an affirming, intersectional, and evidence-informed approach to caring for transgender, non-binary, and/or gender-expansive (TNG) people. Contributors offer an expert view from fields that include psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, pharmacy, public health, law, business, community activism, and more. And because each of the 26 chapters features at least one TNG author, wisdom gleaned from lived experience bolsters the professional perspective provided throughout the book. After an introductory discussion of epidemiology, the neuroscience of gender, and psychopharmacological considerations for prescribing with TNG people, the book engages in an in-depth examination of * Intersectional, gender-affirming care for marginalized communities such as Two-Spirit and Indigenous, Black, Asian American, Pacific Islander, disabled, migrant, refugee, and unhoused people* Developmentally appropriate care for TNG people, from childhood and adolescence to older age* Gender identity affirmation in the context of eating disorders, substance use disorders, pregnancy, and serious mental illness* The specific care needs of populations who have experienced the traumas of incarceration and gender identity conversion efforts* The necessity of systems-level change, including collecting gender identity information in electronic health records, building gender-affirming clinical environments, and mental health law and policy considerations Gender Affirming Psychiatric Care is a rigorous--and timely--resource. It is indispensable for mental health and primary care clinicians looking to deliver evidence-informed and affirming care for TNG patients, and it is informative for neuroscientists and clinical researchers seeking to better understand translational frameworks linking scientific research, gender-affirming clinical practice, and mental health policy.
Affirmative Counseling with LGBTQI+ People
by
Counseling Transgender and Non-Binary Youth
by
There are growing numbers of youth who identify as transgender, and as a result, clinicians and counselors are in need of an informed resource that covers the basics of gender identity and expression. This book responds to that need by setting out clear advice and support on working with transgender and non-binary youth with regard to their identity, mental health, personal and family life and their medical and social transition as well as offering additional resources and reading lists. Along with the basic information needed to understand transgender clients, Irwin Krieger applies this general knowledge to work with transgender teens at what can be the most critical and problematic stage in a trans person's life. Specifically, issues of gender identity awareness and expression for youth along with the mental and physical challenges that puberty presents are discussed. This guide will inform counselors and therapists to support transgender teens in their practice, while providing the necessary tools for opening up the conversation on transgender issues in families and schools.
Affirmative Counseling for Transgender and Gender Diverse Clients
by
Expert guidance on a collaborative approach to mental health care in a group with some unique needsA how-to guide to affirmative counseling with transgender clientsPresents the best evidence-based careInstructions for strategies to improve inclusivityIllustrated with case studiesPrintable tools for clinical useThis volume provides fundamental and evidence-based information on working with transgender and gender diverse people in mental health services. The authors, who are experts in the field, outline the key qualities of affirming mental health services, as well as explore strategies for improving inclusivity and what evidence-based care with trans clients looks like. They also provide insight into current topics, such as working with youth, the harmful and ill-advised approach known as rapid onset gender dysphoria, and whether and how autism is a co-occurring diagnostic concern. Practitioners will find the printable resources provided invaluable for their clinical practice, including sample letters of support for trans clients who are seeking gender affirming medical care.
Handbook of LGBTQ-Affirmative Couple and Family Therapy
by
This comprehensive second edition inspires therapists to utilize clinical work to pragmatically address intersectional oppressions, lessen the burden of minority stress, and implement effective LGBTQ affirmative therapy. A unique and important contribution to LGBTQ literature, this handbook includes both new and updated chapters reflecting cutting-edge intersectional themes like race, ethnicity, polyamory, and monosexual normativity. A host of expert contributors outline the best practices in affirmative therapy, inspiring therapists to guide LGBTQ clients into deconstructing the heteronormative power imbalances that undermine LGBTQ relationships and families. There is also an increased focus on clinical application, with fresh vignettes included throughout to highlight effective treatment strategies. Couple and family therapists and clinicians working with LGBTQ clients, and those interested in implementing affirmative therapy in their practice, will find this updated handbook essential.
Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ+ Community
by
Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ+ Community aims to weave together the realms of sociopolitical, historical, and policy contexts in order to assist readers with understanding the base for effective and affirming health and mental health practice with diverse members of the LGBTQ+ community. Comprised of chapters written by social work academics and their allies--whose combined knowledge in the field spans decades of direct experience in human behavior, practice, policy, and research--this book features applicable and useful content for social work students and practitioners across the allied health and mental health professions, as well as across disciplines. The expansive practice text examines international concerns and content associated with the LGBTQ+ movement and ongoing needs related to health, mental health, policy and advocacy, among other areas of concern. Specific highlights of the chapters include narrative that blends conceptual, theoretical, and empirical content; examination of current trends in the field related to practice considerations and intersectionality; and snapshots of concerns related to international progress and ongoing challenges related to equality and policy. Additionally, as a classroom support for instructors, each chapter has a corresponding power point presentation which includes a resource list pertaining to that chapter's focus with websites, film, and video links as well as national and international organizations associated with the LGBTQ+ community. Overall, Social Work Practice with the LGBTQ+ Community is an invaluable resource for graduate students within social work programs and related disciplines, academics, and health/mental health practitioners currently in the field.
The Equal Curriculum: The Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health
by
Providing Affirming Care to Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth
by
Pediatric Gender Identity
by
This book serves as a guide to key topics regarding pediatric gender identity to help clinicians better care for transgender and gender diverse youth. Written by experts in the field, it covers critical considerations for child health providers from a variety of disciplines in a range of clinical settings. Patients, families and other community agencies can also find useful information about current practices and recommendations for care and support. The text begins by overviewing terminology, epidemiology, gender identity development, and relevant neurobiology. Next, the text focuses on the emergence of affirmative treatment paradigms using a patient-centered, consent based framework. Topics include psychotherapeutic support, gender-affirming medical and surgical care, management of co-existing psychiatric conditions, sexual health and fertility, legal considerations, international considerations, and more. Pediatric Gender Identity can be used as aframework to address core clinical issues and offers practical considerations for gender-affirming care. Using the growing science and understanding of gender development, this book is an excellent resource for all professionals working with gender diverse youth, including child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, pediatric surgeons, psychologists, therapists, researchers, school and educational leaders, and students.
Transgender and Gender Nonconfirming Health and Aging
by
This text addresses the specific lack of clinical educational support for transgender and gender nonconforming (TGNC) individuals as they age. Chapters are written by multidisciplinary healthcare experts who present topical discussions in five critical areas: essential foundational information needed to understand the life experience of older TGNC people; mental and behavioral health issues; social service considerations; specific concerns for nurses; and unique long-term medical concerns for providers. In addition, special attention is placed on providing care for TGNC veteran populations, including strategies to access social services and Social Security, and developing support networks. Transgender Health and Aging is an excellent resource for clinical and research professionals from a variety of medical disciplines, including geriatricians, primary care physicians, psychiatrists, public health officials, social workers, nurses as wellas nonprofessional audiences interested in transgender healthcare in older adults.
Trauma, Resilience, and Health Promotion in LGBT Patients: What Every Health Care Provider Should Know
by
LGBTQ Cultures
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Winner of the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Community/Public Health category. Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated GBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . NEW and updated content includes references to case studies, discussion aids, links to videos, and action steps Explains basic concepts and terminology related to sexual orientation and gender identity--what constitutes culturally appropriate care and its importance for nurses Offers up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare Specific information on LGBTQ populations that helps nurses improve quality of care, care decisions, and referrals Essential classroom and clinical guide-- illuminates LGBTQ healthcare needs for all professional healthcare schools and all practice settings--hospitals, clinics, residential programs, private practices, public health policy settings, and more Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers Delineates the needs of different LGBTQ communities, cultures, and populations Topics include: Diversity issues Developmental issues LGBTQ families Structural changes that need to occur in healthcare systems to create culturally sensitive services Substance abuse issues Mental health issues Risk behaviors, chronic disorders, and serious illnesses Studies and resources for improving inclusion in practice and curricula Structural barriers to quality care--making healthcare settings inclusive Individual, institutional, community, and societal calls to action ​ About the Authors Michele J. Eliason, PhD, is Assistant Dean of the College of Health and Social Sciences at San Francisco State University in San Francisco, California. Peggy L. Chinn, RN, PhD, FAAN, is Professor Emerita of Nursing at the University of Connecticut and the Editor of Advances in Nursing Science.
Understanding Trans Health
by
The Remedy
by
The Remedy invites writers and readers to imagine what we need to create healthy, resilient, and thriving LGBTQ communities. This anthology is a diverse collection of real-life stories from queer and trans people on their own health-care experiences and challenges, from gay men living with HIV who remember the systemic resistance to their health-care needs, to a lesbian couple dealing with the experience of cancer, to young trans people who struggle to find health-care providers who treat them with dignity and respect.
Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care
by
This new edition focuses on bias in health care and provides a variety of case examples related to the timely topics of unconscious bias and microaggressions encountered by patients, students, attending and resident physicians, nurses, staff, and advanced practice providers in various healthcare settings. The proliferation of literature on unconscious bias and microaggressions has raised public awareness around these concerns. This case compendium discusses strategies and addresses professional responses to bias in health care and extends beyond the individual patient and healthcare provider into the communities where biased assumptions and attitudes exist. Recognizing that ethnic minorities, the elderly, the poor, and persons with Medicaid coverage utilize the emergency department at higher rates than the general population, this compendium also builds upon the case studies from the first edition to cover a broader array of underserved minority groups. Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care: Your Story/Our Story - A Case-Based Compendium, 2nd Edition is an essential resource for attending and resident physicians, nurses, staff, advanced practice providers, and students in emergency medicine, primary care, and public health.
Black LGBT Health in the United States: The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation
by
Transitions
by
When Anne learns that her 19-year-old is a transgender man, she struggles to understand her son's new identity. A new landmark in nonfiction comics, Transitions is a sympathetic, informative, and moving story of a family's journey to acceptance. "I thought I was open-minded... The news of my child's gender change hit me like a tidal wave, sweeping away all my certainties. Sweeping away the comfort of my tidy little life." When university biologist Anne Marbot learns that the 19-year-old she raised as "Lucie" is a transgender man named Alex, she's overwhelmed by questions. How can this be? Who put these ideas in your head? What if you regret it? Am I overreacting? How will your grandparents react? Why didn't I see it coming? Why is this so easy for others? Am I a bigot? What does gender really mean, anyway? How can I be the parent my child needs? It soon becomes clear that Alex is not the only one embarking on a journey of self-discovery. The road is not easy, and sometimes their relationship is bitterly strained. But Alex is sure of himself, and Anne is determined to be strong for his sake. With time, she too will be transformed, rediscovering her identity as a mother in profound new ways. With grace and sensitivity, award-winning graphic novelist lodie Durand (Parenthesis) captures the unique journey of well-meaning loved ones who struggle to reconcile new gender identities with their old assumptions. Deeply researched and drawn from true experience, Transitions is a must-read companion for allies and families navigating trans issues and a compassionate roadmap to acceptance.
First Year Out
by
From laser hair removal and coming out to her parents, through to dating, voice training and gender reassignment surgery, this intimate and witty graphic novel follows the character of Lily as she transitions to living as her true, female self. Providing support and guidance on a range of issues such as hormones, medical procedures and relationships, the story traces the everyday thoughts, emotions and struggles many trans and non-binary people face and seeks to empower those who are starting to question their gender as well as promoting wider discussion about the complexities of gender and identity. Based on the author's own experiences as a trans woman, this honest and powerful work is a testament to being who you are and a celebration of gender diversity.
Spellbound
by
The meticulous artwork of transgender artist Bishakh Som gives us the rare opportunity to see the world through another lens. This exquisite graphic novel memoir by a transgender artist, explores the concept of identity by inviting the reader to view the author moving through life as she would have us see her, that is, as she sees herself. Framed with a candid autobiographical narrative, this book gives us the opportunity to enter into the author's daily life and explore her thoughts on themes of gender and sexuality, memory and urbanism, love and loss.
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves
by
There is no one way to be transgender.Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is a revolutionary resource - a comprehensive, reader-friendly guide for transgender people, with each chapter written by transgender and gender expansive authors. Inspired by Our Bodies, Ourselves, the classic and powerful compendium written by and for cisgender women, Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is widely accessible to the transgender population, providing authoritative information in an inclusive and respectful way and representing the collective knowledge base of dozens of influential experts. Each chapter takes the reader through an important issue, such as race, religion, employment, medical and surgical transition, mental health, relationships, sexuality, parenthood, arts and culture, and many more. Anonymous quotes, testimonials, art and poetry from transgender people are woven throughout, adding compelling, personal voices to every page. In this unique way, hundreds of viewpoints from throughout the community have united to create this strong and pioneering book. It is a welcoming place for transgender and gender-questioning people, their partners and families, students, professors, guidance counselors, and others to look for up-to-date information on transgender life. The content of the second edition of this award-winning resource will be thoroughly updated throughout and will include entirely new stories, artwork, and illustrations as well as dozens of new contributing authors and collaborators.