Transgender Health Care: Home

Transgender health care, also referred to as gender-affirming care, is the provision of health services to support a person’s process of living in alignment with their gender identity.  These may refer to services that support social, medical, surgical, or legal needs.  Information retrieved from the National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center.

The authors of this LibGuide recognize that informed, evidence-based health care is important to all health care patients and that a lack of these things may result in negative health care outcomes.  To support and promote high-quality and evidence-based care, this guide provides resources about health care for transgender patients.

Health care that welcomes and meets the needs of its patients takes time and intention on the part of providers, health care workers, health care educators, patients, and families. This intention allows people to learn about the needs of patients and to unravel any systems that may be harmful to minoritized patient populations.  Because the process of providing the highest quality patient care does not need to be a lonely process, the authors of this guide have created it to support those who are learning about transgender health care.

Should you have any additional questions about this topic and want to speak with someone about it, please feel free to use the form at the link below to connect with someone.

• Suggestions for Improvement or Guide Content

This guide is divided into the following sections.

• Why Trans Health Care Matters: Provides a brief discussion and set of resources about why the topic of this LibGuide is important.
• Terminology: Discusses terminology relevant to transgender health care and provides resources to support accurate understanding and use of relevant terminology.
• Books by Health Care Category: Lists books relevant to transgender health care divided by specialty.
• Literature Reviews by Health Care Category: Lists literature reviews relevant to transgender health care divided by specialty.
• Research Data: Provides links to resources relevant to the use of transgender health care data.
• Sources of Research: Provides suggestions for tools that may be helpful for locating relevant research resources on topics of gender-affirming care.
• Educational Resources: Lists resources that may directly help patients or providers learn more about gender-affirming care.
• Health Legislation and Policy: Provides resources to support an informed understanding of how legislation impacts health care of transgender and gender diverse patients.
• Social Media: Provides several social media accounts that may be useful when learning more about gender-affirming care.
• Organizations: Lists significant organizations that provide information or resources relevant to transgender health care.
• Campus Resources: Lists resources and offices available through ECU that may be beneficial to users of this LibGuide.
• Other Guides/LibGuides: Lists a collection of other LibGuides covering similar topics or resources for those that may not find what they need in this guide.
• How to Contribute to this Guide: Provides links to methods for contributing to this LibGuide.