Much of your research for your paper will come from scholarly journals located in databases.
On this page, you will find:
You can find an article by searching in a database. A database is a searchable collection of information. Examples of everyday databases include Amazon.com, iTunes, and the Internet Movie Database. A library database contains newspapers, magazines, scholarly journal articles, trade journals, and sometimes book chapters.
All databases are different, yet they share some commonalities:
We have linked some databases you may need for research in Ethnic Studies to the right. There are many listed here because the study of Ethnic Studies is multidisciplinary and crosses many different fields. For help, Ask a Librarian!
A streaming video collection of documentaries and interviews addressing art theory, history, and practice. Content spans the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. Also provides videos on applied disciplines such as architecture and graphic design.
The Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, the Arts Premium Collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews.
An extensive compilation of downloadable, high resolution images. Content encompasses art, architecture, photography, the humanities, and social sciences. Searchable by gallery, museum, subject, period, region, and keyword. Features include zooming and side-by-side comparison.
An extensive collection of articles and images pertaining to art and architecture. Spans ancient to contemporary art. Searchable by artist, era, region, medium, and keyword.
General
Search across primary source collections from academic publisher Adam Matthew. Content covers African American history, gender and sexuality, global studies, popular culture in Britain and America, Colonial America, Victorian culture, Foreign Office Files for China and the Middle East, Medieval life and writing, social histories, Maritime history and more.
Contains a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs and contemporary studies, covering human behavior around the world, with a specific focus outside of the developed world. Includes cultural, linguistic, applied, visual, urban, medical, and physical anthropology, as well as archaeology. Content spans: 1800s - Present
A collection of full-text scholarly articles from across the humanities. Topics include: art and design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and cultural studies. Designed to complement DAAI, MLA International Bibliography, Philosopher’s Index, and RILM Abstracts. Content spans 1973 – Present.
Contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups. Full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level and search by cultures, subjects, regions, and subsistence types.
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Contains multidisciplinary coverage of news, culture, and history. Content spans: 1990 to the present.
NC-specific
Provides digital versions of primary source materials from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina Presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. Materials are freely available for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone interested in the history and culture of North Carolina.
North Carolina Periodicals Index
Provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel. Coverage includes 68 current and historic publications. Content spans: 1930s – current.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
The collection contains full-text articles and Abstracts/Indexing. Includes databases AGRICOLA and TOXLINE. Topics include: Agriculture, Biology, Environmental Science, Human Ecology, Public Health, Sustainability, and Waste Management. Content spans: 1960-current.
Covers technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Topics include: mines and quarry equipment, nuclear power plants, thermoelectric energy, tidal and wind power, treatment of sewage and industrial wastes, water analysis and treatment techniques. Incorporates Pollution Abstracts, Environment Abstracts, and Environmental Engineering Index.
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Provides blend of abstracts and indexing with some links to full-text articles. Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Topics include: climate change and global warming, conservation, endangered species, environmental education, environmental engineering, environmental health, safety and risk, environmental law and policy, environmental management and protection, land use, plant science, pollution, soil sciences, sustainability and sustainable development, wastewater, sewage and sanitation, waste management, water quality, water resources, wildlife and zoology. Expanded and merged with the Human Population and Natural Resource Management subfile. Content spans 1960 – present.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Sources are both domestic and international scope.
Search Joyner Library's collection of online materials.
