LIBS 6026 Organization of Information LibGuide: Welcome

Plagiarism is a serious offense at East Carolina University. The ECU Student Handbook defines plagiarism as "Copying the language, structure, ideas, and/or thoughts of another and adopting same as one's own original work." For more information see Section II: Code of Conduct, Penalties, and Hearing Procedures for Students in the handbook.

Tips for avoiding plagiarism The First Year Writing Studio at ECU offers the following suggestions for avoiding plagiarism:

• Place quotation marks around direct quotes.
• Paraphrase your source information. This means more than rearranging the structure of a sentence or changing a few words. A good way to do this is to figure out what the source means to you and then writing this down without looking at the source.
• Document all quotes and paraphrased information, and provide a Works Cited page at the end of your paper.
• In your notes, record quotes, paraphrases, and summaries in an orderly manner so that the page number, source, author/editor, and publication information are carefully noted.

Links for more information:

• How to Avoid Plagiarism: An Online Tutorial

  From Rutgers University

• You Quote it, You Note it

  From Acadia University

• Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism

  From Duke University

• Purdue OWL: APA Style

  APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.

• Official Site of the APA Writing Manual

ERIC via ProQuest 

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources. Materials include journal articles (mostly peer-reviewed), books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and more. Selectively full-text for the document (non-journal) portion of the database.

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) 

An international, multilingual abstracting and indexing tool with full-text available, designed for library professionals and other information specialists. Topics include: information management, information technology, internet technology, knowledge management, librarianship, libraries and archives, library management, library technology, library use and users, and online information retrieval. Content spans 1969 – present.

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text 

Contains blend of full-text, abstracts and indexing. Indexes articles and book reviews in library and information science periodicals, books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets. Topics include: automation, care and restoration of books, cataloging, censorship, copyright, electronic searching, indexing, preservation of materials, public relations, publishing, rare books and reference service. Content spans 1980 – present.