Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections for ENGL 1200: Home

This guide is intended to assist ENGL 1200 students in their completion of their ENGL 1200 artifact assignment.

About this guide

This guide has been designed to serve as a reference tool for ENGL 1200 students completing their artifact assignment.  It in includes information on Special Collections spaces, holdings, and finding aids.

Also on the Web

Special Collections Staff Picks

Weekly highlights of our Special Collections online
Link to Special Collections Facebook page

Many Materials, One Special Collection

Joyner Library's Special Collections collects and organizes a wide variety of resources for researchers from ECU and beyond.  There are four main collections that reside under the Special Collections umbrella:

Manuscripts and Rare Books
Primary sources in the East Carolina Manuscript Collection, the Rare Book Collection, the Hoover Collection on International Communism, and the James H. and Virginia Schlobin Literature of the Fantastic Collection provide rich opportunities for research by students, faculty members, genealogists, local historians, and visiting scholars.

North Carolina Collection
One of the state's major repositories dedicated to the study of North Carolina, its culture, and its people, and is the only to emphasize the eastern region of the state.

University Archives
The University Archives appraises, preserves, and makes accessible historical records concerning all aspects of East Carolina University’s past. University Archives serves the university community by acting as a final, central repository for items related to the administrative, academic, legal, fiscal, social, and cultural interactions of the individuals, departments, and programs present on campus since 1907.

Digital Collections
Digital Collections is your gateway to thousands of images, texts, and recordings from the Joyner Library's rich holdings.

Joyner Library Special Collections Division

Contact Information and Hours

Manuscripts, Rare Books, and University Archives
Location: 4th Floor, Drum
Hours of operation
Phone: (252) 328-6671
Contact via email


North Carolina Collection
Location: 3rd Floor, Drum
Hours of Operation
Phone: (252) 328-6601
Contact via email

Special Collections Division Main Page