Research Guides: FORL 2620: Database Research

Researching History Topics

An encampment of the Eclaireurs Israelites de France (Jewish Scouts of France). Date 1935 - 1938. Photo Credit United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Simone Weil Lipman

While print books can be especially helpful for historical research, articles are an essential part of history scholarship. Below are databases most likely to contain articles relevant to FORL 2620 topics.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text scholarly articles from across the humanities. Topics include: art and design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and cultural studies. Designed to complement DAAI, MLA International Bibliography, Philosopher’s Index, and RILM Abstracts. Content spans 1973 – Present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). All abstracts are written in English. Historical Abstracts also includes book reviews from journals in the field and abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide. Content spans: 1960 - Current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An extensive archive of American and international scholarly journals and books in the humanities, sciences, philosophy, and social sciences.  Provides downloadable PDFs. Content spans 1800 – 2 years ago.

Researching Literature Topics

Artist Marc Chagall poses outside his studio in Gordes, France. Date 1940- 1941. Photo Credit United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Cynthia Jaffee McCabe

Below are databases that collect journals and articles on both English and foreign language literatures.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Years of Coverage: 1963 - Current
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Combines several full-text databases for English, American, and Canadian fiction, poetry, and drama with a wide range of reference resources, including indexing of the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.

Researching Film Topics

Portrait of the Schreiber family in southern France. Date Circa 1941 December 14 . Photo Credit United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Joseph Schreiber

Film topics relevant to FORL 2620 can be researched in the databases below.

Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A database covering television and film writing. Designed for use by film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Journals in communication studies, with coverage as far back as the early decades of the 20th century.