Research Guides: FORL 2620: Post-WWII France

French Studies Resources

Postwar portrait of a Jewish woman and her three children, all of whom survived the war in hiding. Date 1945 June 15. Photo Credit United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Irene Burenstein Parkinson

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
A guide to the cultures, customs, and histories of foreign countries for companies and individuals traveling for business. Can be searched by country. Topics include: business practices, communication trends, demographics, finance and banking, points of interest, security information, and transportation tips.
ARTFL This link opens in a new window
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) provides indexing and full text materials written in French. Includes Diderot and D’Alembert’s Encyclopedie. Genres include novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises in a variety of subject areas: literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Year of coverage: 12th - 20th centuries.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups. Full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level and search by cultures, subjects, regions, and subsistence types.

Sample additional titles from the Joyner Library collection

Vichy's Afterlife by Richard J. Golsan; Richard Golsan
Call Number: Joyner Stacks DC397 .G59 2000
ISBN: 0803270941
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
In Vichy's Afterlife, Richard J. Golsan explores the complexities of some of the most provocative episodes of Vichy's curious persistence in France's national consciousness. He argues that each of these episodes, events, and scandals constitutes a crossroads where history and "counterhistory"--different or competing versions of the past--encounter one another, often with explosive and even destructive consequences.
Jewish Youth and Identity in Postwar France by Daniella Doron
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9780253017413
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Doron traces emerging notions about the postwar family and its role in strengthening Jewish ethnicity and French republicanism in the shadow of Vichy and the Holocaust.
Jewish Radical Feminism by Joyce Antler
Call Number: General Stacks BM729 .W6 A58 2018
ISBN: 9780814707630
Publication Date: 2018-05-04
Fifty years after the start of the women's liberation movement, a book that at last illuminates the profound impact Jewishness and second-wave feminism had on each other

FORL 2620: Post-WWII France

French Studies Resources

Sample additional titles from the Joyner Library collection

Try OneSearch!